Tuesday, Jun. 11, 2002

4:28 p.m.

I am an idiot.

Met with the job offerer today. He mentioned he does have another person he's looking at, but have to meet with him first before deciding who to hire.

Crap.

But, that's not why I'm an idiot. I'll get to that later.

So, the job offerer took me into his office and explained to me his plans...how he wants to expand and grow the company into some HUGE....bigger than any other around the area. He ONLY wants to hire young, bright, in-the-know late twenty-somethings to early thirty-somethings.

What he said he like about me...I'm versatile, I've got management experience, I know graphic design, I have cool concepts, I have product development and branding experience, blah, blah, blah.

He took me around the entire 3 buildings, showed me around, pointed out his plans, and introduced me to a few of the 30-something or people who currently work there.

Then, we were done. He says to me, "So it'll be full-time,starting right away, and that number you mentioned is fine.....42?"

And I thought, "No, the number I mentioned was 45." Yet, that was not what came out. What came out was, "Uh, yeah, ok."

Stupid, stupid, stupid girl!!!!

I just froze.

And now it is bugging me like hell and I'm thinking how I can go about telling him that the number I mentioned before was 45 and not 42 if he decides to hire me intstead of the other guy.

The thing is....according to the salary calculator with someone in this position and with this experience...I should be getting between $52-58k. Crap, crap, crap. And, I had said 45 as a graphic designer. The project manager position came in later. Heck, how do I go about asking for more without jeopardizing being hired IF he even decides to hire me?

Anyway, he said he'll let me know in a few days.

So, that's that. I'm a stupid girl and how the heck is that going to reflect on me being bright and aggressive when I am not even able to straight out say, "No, that's not the number I mentioned earlier."

I need advice!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.