Wednesday, Jun. 05, 2002

4:47 p.m.

Guess what? Guess what? I got a job offer!!!! And, it was all due to a completely serendipitous occurance.

Oh my god. I cannot believe it.

Ok, so here what happened. I went to the One Stop orientation in MDR this morning. Afterwards, I decided to stop by this digital imaging place where the last company I worked for used to get things laminated or drumscanned. I was the contact person and have worked with the place for quite some time so they knew me by name there. Anyway, I had gone in to get a price quote on some postcards I'm doing for a client. While catching up on some small talk, I told them I no longer work for The C-------- Group since I had been laid off due to lack of business and am currently looking for a job. The owner looked at me and said, "I'm actually looking for a graphic designer so I'd like to see your book." I said, "Oh, ok....when would you like to see it? I can go home now and bring it back." So, that's exactly what I did. We went over my portfolio and talked about what I did for TCG. He said he'd give me a ring tomorrow.

Well, I went to Target to get some stuff I needed. When I got home, one of my freelance clients called and said his roomate will be calling me to get some business cards done. Then, he told me he'll have more work for me next week. Cool!

Right after that, I checked my messages and the owner of the digital imaging place left a message for me to call him back. As soon as I finished listening to my messages, the phone rang. It was him....the owner. He said I have a lot of qualifications for what he's looking for and that he'd like to hire me as an in-house designer/project manager. I'm going in tomorrow so we can go over the job details.

So now I have a problem. My heart is set on working for a large, fun-filled, very cool, hip company where there are tons of people my age, yet I have no idea when a place like that would offer me a position. At this point...I have not had that many interviews and it's tough right now. This place is offering me a good title and a good opportunity, but it's not exactly the typd of environment I want to be working in. I would be the sole designer. It would be like working at the old company only there would be even less creative people. I have no idea when I'll get another job interview or offer.

I don't know what to do really. I guess I just need to tell this guy that I would definitely like to work for him but on a freelance part-time basis for now rather than go straight into full-time. That way, it would allow me the opportunity to continue searching for a more desirable workplace. It's just that this place seems more promising as a long-term place without all the cool stuff and cool people I so desire.

What would you guys do? Anybody? Please let me know ASAP.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.