Friday, Jan. 25, 2002

12:22 a.m.

Look! I got rid of my dead flowers and replaced them with miniature roses from Trader Joe's.

The dead flowers started growing grayish-green furry things (mold), which didn't really bother me until a co-worker told me they could be harmful if I breathed it in. That did it. I got rid of them ASAP. I wasn't about to let some furry mold crawl up my nostril and start some sort of brain tumor. Can that even happen?

Anyway, turns out the miniature roses were a big hit. Practically everyone in the office made some sort of compliment towards them.

--------------------------------------------------

What did you have for dinner tonight? A trip to Pavilions got me this:

A trip to Pavilions also lost my wallet, filled with five $100 bills. That's $500 in cash! I never carry that much money around, but today was an exception from the norm. After being without my wallet for about 3 hours and not even knowing it was missing, I got a call from Pavilions. Nothing was missing, not even the cash. I feel like the luckiest person on the planet right now.

So, why was I carrying around so much cash? Well, you'll have to read the story below first.

--------------------------------------------------

Thank god for RU486, a steroid hormone that terminates pregnacy in the first 9 weeks.

No, I'm not pregnant, but a very good co-worker friend of mine just found out she's about 4 weeks pregnant and asked me to accompany her to the clinic. Of all the people we know, I was the only person she felt comfortable enough to confess this to and I felt honored to be entrusted with this sort of information.

We walked into the clinic and the first thing I notice is that nearly everyone in the waitingroom was of color. Everyone also seemed to have a friend, boyfriend, or husband with them for support.

My friend was handed what seemed like 20 sheets of paper to read or fill out. We sat down and while she filled out the paperwork, I read about the procedure. Words like cramping, bleeding for up to 3 weeks, inserting 4 pills up the vagina, nasea, vomitting, and dizziness flashed before my eyes. It made me feel sick to my stomach thinking what these people might have to go through and I think I felt more nervous than my friend. I felt fortunate I wasn't in her situation.

When she came back out, she told me they had placed her in another waiting room with 10 other girls all in surgical gowns, even though she was there to just get the pill and have her blood drawn. She also told me that many of the girls were really young and there was one girl that really stuck out. She looked no older than 12 and was sucking her thumb. I cannot even imagine how such a young girl could have gotten pregnant.

Anyway, the reason why I was carrying around $500 in cash was because my friend was going to pay the clinic $425 in cash until we found out they wouldn't accept cash. She doesn't use credit cards and we didn't have time to go get a cashier's check, so I ended up charging it on my card for her and she gave me the cash. Aren't I just such a good friend? I think I am. I'm someone people can count on to get things done or just to be there for them and I can't help but to be that way. I only hope my friends are the same way.

--------------------------------------------------

Since I am exhausted, I will list more of my reasons as to why I decided to post pictures next time. Here's a few more Puma pictures. I got him a new toy.

And here, Puma is inspecting his new toy. Hi cutie baby!

And this, this is an old toy he hates. It's from my sister, who got it at an Anne Rice book signing event. The belly of the rat has her signature on it. I think Puma is scared of the rat, not because it's hideous, but because it makes a really high-pitched squeal when you squeeze it, thus it probably hurts his precious ears.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.