Tuesday, Jan. 22, 2002

12:02 a.m.

What does one's work desk say about them? Here is mine.

Notice the dead flowers. They've been wilted like that for over a week now. I was officially dubbed the queen of keeping dead, wilted flowers at my workplace.

The best thing about keeping dead, wilted flowers around for over a week is the reaction you get from your coworkers who walk by your desk. It's so pathetic to see flowers in that condition that it's funny. And, it's not like I do it on purpose. I'm just too lazy to throw them out.

So far, I've gotten laughs out of everyone, which really, is a good thing. Laughing is good and if you can make someone or even yourself laugh like that, then, I think it's great. I think I laughed the hardest when my boss came up the other day and the first thing he said to me was, "Jesus, Rachel, what is going on with the flowers?" Then, he just broke out in chuckles, which in turn made me chuckle and blurt out, "Oh, I just have a bad habit of keeping dead things around. There's another vase of them behind you." (there really is) Which, in effect, made him burst out in silent laughter. Aaahh, what a great stress reliever laughing can be!

--------------------------------------------------

But seriously, I'd love to know what people think my work desk says about me. Notice my baby Puma cat in the furry frame? What does that say about my character?

Everything I write about always seems to go back to questions about myself. It's like I'm obsessed with myself as if I'm trying to discover who I am. It puzzles me why I am so like this.

All of a sudden I just have all this stuff I want to write about. Take for example, I have an urge to write about my mom leaving the country for a month. I'll have to write about that next so I never forget about it. I want to jot down and record everything in case I forget.

See, a while back, someone, another fellow diarylander told me something along the lines of how keeping a diary like this is not only an outlet for our little frustrations, but also a record of everything that means something to us. We will always have memories of certain things, but our memory won't always be reliable. So, recording our thoughts through words and images is a way to make sure little details will be archived for later reference. Of course, he phrased it much better than I just did. And that is the reason why I've decided to take all these pictures and actually post them. It's nice to have an image to go along with your written words.

Sometimes, I go back and am horrified to find all these godawful grammatical and spelling errors. But, other times, I think, "Damn, that was a good entry."

--------------------------------------------------

Also, I've been pondering over what someone else left in my guestbook. Was it a challenge to explain this sentence I wrote in my previous entry?: "I think it says something when a person is willing to post pictures of themselves." If so, I shall forfeit more of my reasons.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.