Saturday, Nov. 24, 2001

3:17 p.m.

Thanksgiving's over, the turkey birds are dead, and now it's raining.

Every year my mom buys a small turkey for Thanksgiving since no one in the immediate nuclear family of 5 really eats turkey. It's funny how we still get a turkey each year just because it's Thanksgiving.

For some people Thanksgiving is like an excuse to get families together and be forced to eat the meat of some bird that few like outside of deli sandwiches. There's just something about turkey meat that throws me off. Whether it's too dry or there's that particular odd taste that gets left behind on my taste buds, every year, I'd force myself to slowly eat up a few pieces of that awful meat.

Afterwards, I'd quickly scan around the room, looking for other foods that would drown out that turkey taste.

This year was no different, only I somehow managed to stuff my mouth with some cookie that happened to look appetizing, only to find out that it was a couple of years old and tasted as stale as cardboard with a hint of bitter spice. My mom has a horrible packrat problem keeping around dry snacks from as far back as 10 yrs ago.

And no matter how juicy the turkey is, it still tastes dry. I just don't like turkey unless it's in the form of deli meat or hotdog form. Even then, I've somehow managed to convince myself that the only reason I'm getting a turkey sandwich at Subways is because it's got less fat calories than that tasty BMT.

I'm back at my apartment in LA again and I'm a little sad, although content to be home. See, every time I go visit my parents, who live nearly 2 hours away, I get this odd feeling of leaving them behind. I'm not sure why. It's like a guilt thing. I see them waving "bye" to me in the rearview mirror as I descend away, down our lengthy driveway. Sometimes I think I'm afraid it might be the last time I see them. But, once I'm back in the security of my own place, I'm fine.

--------------------------------------------------

Last night, I went to the Weezer concert in Long Beach. I had no idea the crowd was going to consist of so many young kids. Kids who appeared to be in their early to mid teens. And because of that, I felt OLD. So old that in a way, I felt a bit out of place. That is, until the bands started playing. Jimmy Eat World went on first, although I didn't know it was them until today. Next came Tenacious D, with their humorous foul mouths. Weezer finally came on and as usual, they were amazing. I only wished I could've seen them closer up.

--------------------------------------------------

Thunderstorm finally managed to find internet access in Kyoto and posted a couple days worth of entries. I'm glad because now I have good stuff to read since a lot of people haven't updated due to the holiday weekend. I only wish Thunderstorm would have written in more juicy detail about the hot baths.

--------------------------------------------------

Also, I 'm sad that after all this time I've been on diaryland, I still only have two people who signed onto my notifylist.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.