Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2003

3:25 a.m.

Wrong Number

It is nearly 3:30 a.m. and I am still wide awake, wasting time surfing online, looking for interesting reads. Then ring-ring! Me thinks, "Who the fuck is calling my cell phone at this time of the night?" "Hello?" I say. Then I hear some lady speaking in an unfamiliar foreign language. It sounded like an Asian language, but I couldn't distinguish from where...maybe Southeast Asia.

The woman's tongue was quick and sharp, sounding chicken-like. I answered, "You have the wrong number." She chirped some more. I repeated myself in English and again she chirped some more. We did this one final round and then I hung up on her.

I don't get it. I have had this happen to me numerous times. One lady even kept calling me something like 8 times straight, wasting my precious airtime. Why do foreign people not get that they have the wrong number? Surely, they know who they are calling, right?

Speaking of wrong numbers, a few months ago, some lady called me on my cell phone. I answered "Hello?" I hear a hesitation on the other end and then this bitch with a severe attitude asks me, "Who is this?" Shocked with such a rude demanding question, I answered, "Uh...this is Rachel, who are you?" Then she says, "Why are you answering (insert assumed boyfriend's name here)'s phone?" So then I say, "Excuse me, but this is not so and so's phone you are calling. This is my personal cell phone number that you're calling. You have the wrong number." And then she makes a frustrated noise and hangs up on me, not even apologizing. I take it she was the high-maintence bitch with an attitude jealous type.

Some people! I'm going to bed. I need to stop being a vampire.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.