Saturday, Mar. 29, 2003

11:18 p.m.

Last night, boyfriend and I went to Costa Mesa to see a friend's band perform, only to find myself a bit disgusted with something that was brought up by the singer/bass guitarist.

Halfway through the performance he asked the audience, "So what do you all think of the war that's going on?" Someone in the audience yells out something like, "We're not killing enough Iraqis." Singer/bass guitarist responded with something like, "Alright, give that man a hand."

It made me angry and sad to hear something like that even though I am not an Iraqi. My point is that the comment was ignorant and prejudice in a way. I felt as if he were against all Iraqis, even the innocent ones. Just because we're at war with Iraq right now doesn't mean that all Iraqis are our enemies. I mean, how would that have made an American Iraqi feel if one was in the same room?

Why do some people have to be so prejudice? It breaks my heart whenever I hear ignorant racial comments.

When I was a youngster, I remember my mother getting angry because some old lady thought she was Japanese. I asked my mother why it made her angry and she said, "Because a lot of white folks hate the Japanese because of WWII for their greed." I also remember another incident where my mother became angry when someone mistook her for being Vietnamese. Again, I asked her why and she said, "Because a lot of people hate the Vietnamese because of the Vietnam war." And for a few years, I, too acted like mother, afraid people would mistake me for something other than what I really am. She taught me to be prejudice without sound reasoning, but I overcame it as I got older.

When I was in high school, my dad became angry because I had a half Filipino/half black friend over to play. She was fairly dark. He said, "Because black people are no good." I said, "But not all black people are not good....she's mine friend...you don't know her." He said, "Maybe she is good, but next time she might bring one of her kind who is bad and then he'll bring more of them and they might rob us." I was angry by his comment. I couldn't understand it. I had friends from all kinds of backgrounds back in high school.

In college, I made even more friends from different backgrounds and found nothing wrong with that. I grew up and am proud of what I am. I outgrew the prejudice that my parents carried. I don't know where they acquired those prejudicial tendencies, but I'm glad that I have the open mind to not be like that as much as I love them. I wish more people in the world were more like me, having the ability to be more open-minded when it comes to racial issues. My parents are not so prejudice anymore and they were never actively prejudice, but only in private. Prejudice is taught and I wish and hope that less and less parents practice it.

If I were prejudice against anything, it would be against those who practice racial prejudice on an active front. And if I were evil enough, I'd gather them all in a glass ball and zap them into space where they can keep running like a hamster in a hamster ball.

I want world peace and harmony. I want our different colors and cultures to mix and mash.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.