Monday, Feb. 17, 2003

12:21 a.m.

valentine's 2003

this has got to be one of the best, if not the best valentine's day i've had in a long time.

boyfriend surprised me by getting off work early and hand-delivering a bouquet of flowers in a vase to my workplace around 2ish.

i was sitting at my desk, working on a promo piece for the company when i heard a coworker walk into the building, followed by somebody he was talking to. i figured it was just a client that he had brought in so i didn't pay attention as to who followed in behind him.

the next thing i know, that certain someone approached me and as i looked up, i noticed a familiar face....boyfriend! he was holding a vase of flowers and smiling at me. i sat there stunned for a second and then uttered, "hi!!! what are you doing here?" boyfriend says, "delivering flowers." i got up and gave him a hug and kiss, while thanking him.

he had caught me off-guard and i, for some reason or other didn't expect to receive a delivery of flowers after having been numb to not getting any in the past, ever, on this particular day of the year in the workplace. this was a first.

on the card, he wrote, "to my special girl. thank you for being you. i figured roses would be too typical. hope you like. love boyfriend's name."

he is sooo sweet!

later that evening, he cooked me dinner for the first time.....shrimp cocktail for appetizers and lomo saltado with rice as the main dish. lomo saltado is a popular peruvian dish consisting of strips of steak, tomatoes, onions and french fries which you eat over white rice. it was quite delicious and i must say i liked it better than the ones you get at restaurants. boyfriend can cook!

for entertainment, he had rented, "my big fat greek wedding," which by the way is excellent and the perfect choice for valentine's day. we had both been wanting to see it and this was the perfect oppurtunity. he told me he snagged the last copy in the video store. lucky us.

i got boyfriend a framed jazz poster he had his eyes on, along with a nice, gray kolo photo album for all the pictures we've been taking recently.

his original plan was to take me to either santa barbara or san diego, but due to the gloomy weather, he decided to postphone it and take me on another weekend with nicer weather. i've been wanting to go to san diego and i've never been to santa barbara so i'm really excited once we get the chance to take a little road trip.

saturday, we decided to check out the new titanic exhibition at the center of science in los angeles. unfortunately, as soon as we got there, we found out they had sold out. crap. so we ended up driving to santa monica to see city of gods. a long flick, but a good one. afterwards, we had dinner at one of the best sushi places i've had here in the los angeles area....sushi king over on santa monica blvd.

then, that night, we attended a little house party consisting of about twenty-something people in a beautiful home in north hollywood. i got so wasted after two glasses of apple martini. it was some really good, strong mix. i ended up throwing up 3 times....the first for me and i must say i do not ever want to feel that way again.

boyfriend took me to the guest house and laid me on the bed next to his best bud, who was the first to pass out from overconsumption of alcoholic beverages. not too long after that, boyfriend and another friend brought in my friend, j-girl who was the next to be put to bed. by then, i was fine, just exhausted so i ended up taking care of j-girl while she deliriously wouldn't stop talking silly. every time i covered her with a blanket, she'd throw it back off saying she was cold. i finally got her to shut up and sleep. within a few minutes of that, boyfriend came in and woke her up again! the chattering started all over again and we had to stay until she fell asleep. boyfriend drove us back to his place where i was happy to crawl into bed and sleep in comfort.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.