2001-01-16

1:17 am

so like, i went into my boss's office today to tell him, "thanks for the raise, it's greatly appreciated and needed." he says, "you're welcome, come in and have a seat. i've been meaning to talk to you about your position here."

he continues on about how he and the studio manager have been building this organizational chart where everyone will finally have a more specific title as to what their role is in the company since we are 'growing.' he's been saying this for the past year and a half i've been with the company, but i think the changes are slowly taking place rather than 'just talk.'

our design side of the company currently consists of one studio/production manager, two art directors, two deisgners, and a bunch of freelancers that come and go.

my title thus far is just plain "graphic designer" although it seems i handle more of the production that goes out to print, as well as contact clients. slowly, my design side is dissipating. more and more, i feel less a designer. i mean....that's what i went to school for....to become a designer....I think? and it seems alot of people tend to think production is the low of the low, although if you think about it, it's just a different part of the whole process. but, because of that....i feel low. at times, i really would rather not design, especially for the type of design we do at work. alot of the times, i would rather just handle the production and manage the jobs that are handed to me....including the process of quoting and estimating prices.

so, basically, what i'm trying to say is that i want to be superwoman and do everything. a little of everything. i want a higher title that fits what i do. i want to continue managing production and also get to design.

my boss, basically asked me what direction i would like to lean towards. either more toward production, design, or both? then, he asked me if i'd prefer the title of production manager, creative manager or both a year from now. this is where my problem lies.

if i take up the title of production manager, would i be limiting and boxing myself into strictly production and not being able to go back toward design if i were to leave the company? i mean....production managers get paid well and it's a higher title than what i have now, but i want to still be known as a designer.

if i take up creative manager....what exactly is that? i mean, are there really creative managers in the design studio, marketing ,branding, and identity firms? there are creative directors, but that's way up high and certainly our studio manager would be entitled to that role. where would a creative manager lie in hierarchy to all the other positions?

so, even though my boss has basically told me i'd be promoted in a year, i'm both happy and confused. i sorta get to pick my title, but the title i choose will effect my future. what to do?! i've made a list of titles that may and may not work, but i wonder where they'd fall and which ones sound of more importance than others? i'm hoping other people would be able to help figure this out for me, keeping in mind that i've only had one and a half years of professional experience. (yeah, i know i'm fortunate to jump so far ahead of the game. lucky me.) so, here's my list:

1. jr. creative director

2. assistant creative director

3. creative production manager

4. creative production director

5. creative/production manager

6. creative & production manager

7. creative manager

8. production manager

9. design director

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.