Friday, Jan. 21, 2005

1:17 a.m.

after a long, hauling commute from the valley back down to the marina del rey area and having decided to make a stop by the local costco to purchase some quality kirkland signature 36 pack bag of individually wrapped quilted bath tissue, or in other words, toilet paper, i found myself "stuck & stranded" in the parking lot after making my purchase, along with a box of mangoes, a box of salad and 2 loaves of fresh french bread.

my car would not start, not even a little sput. complete silence."what the heck!" i thought. "no way. why's my car not starting up." i tried a couple more times to start the engine but nothing happened. the lights were all still working, which was actually a good sign and meant just the battery died on me.

my initial reaction was to call jorge, but then i thought, "wait sec, he's kinda sick and he's not exactly close by, which is like within 10 minutes." so, i called my brother, hoping he'd be at home, which is like just 5 minutes away. he didn't answer on the first ring. so i hung up. i decided to try jorge. no luck. so i left a message. i thought about calling my brother's girlfriend but then decided to call the brother again. this time he answered and luckily he was at home.

after waiting for about 10 minutes, he showed up only to find out that my car was not parked in the best of places for jumpstarting a car. with all these empty spaces nearby, i was parked in a stall where there was no way anyone could be parked close enough to perform a jumpstarting session. well, unless the car just to the right of mine moved out of the way. so, the brother and i ended up pushing my car out of the parking spot into a better spot where we could jumpstart my car. a nice man who had just finished with his shopping saw us and voluntarily started to help us push the car. what a nice samaritan. he reminded me of my jorgie who always helps out people when he sees they need it.

we jumpstarted my car and it was a success. i drove my car around for about half an hour before heading home. while doing so, i discovered that tbw chiat day is just down the street from my house! how convenient that would be if i worked for the company. i could probably just buy and bike and bike there every day.

now i am kind of dreading the condition of my car, which has been so reliable for the last five years. and to think that i just finished paying it off this month. now i have to anticiapte how much i may need to pay for my next service. i'm taking it in tomorrow. so much for the extra $324.20 per month. i bet it's going to cost that much when i get it serviced. oh yeah...i think i may be due for new tires soon, as well. like i said, it's been 5 years....and i want to at least keep the car for another 5.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.