Tuesday, Dec. 10, 2002

7:19 p.m.

Messing With The Telemarketer

After a rough day's work, I came home, hoping to relax. The phone rang and it was one those annoying telemarketers trying to sell me some sort of insurance that would cover up to $100,000 in case you were hurt.

The telemarketer started off by telling me that she would not take up too much of my time, yet she went on and on as if she were reading some manual. Annoyed, I decided to stay on the phone and while doing so, I turned on the faucet, flushed the toilet, and giggled. Still she went on talking, hesitating a bit with my background noise every now and then.

As she was asking me if I were married or had children to figure out which plan would best suit me, I asked her if it would cover cats. This seemed to have thrown her off and she was like, "What......uh, you mean pets? No, it doesn't cover cats."

I giggled and said, "I'm sorry, I've had a rough day and I just felt like messing with you." To which she answered by laughing and telling me a little story about her rough day. I ended the conversation by declining her offer, partly due to the fact that there is no cat insurance coverage.

The poor lady. I felt like I wasted her time. She probably gets hangups all day. I would hate to be a telemarketer. Image making calls all day trying to sell something. Ick! Well, some people might enjoy it, but I sure as hell wouldn't.

Speaking of telemarketing, I found this interesting article in which you can actually collect and sue up to $500/solicitation if your state has a law against automated telemarketing. Looks like some people have made quite alot just from that. It's easy to collect if you know exactly what to write and complain about, along with sending in the law, cc'ing it to an attorney general, and mentioning that you have the recorded evidence. Before you know it, there could be an apology letter and a check for $500 in your mailbox. It's like getting free money.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.