Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2003

12:35 p.m.

Strep Throat

I don't know how, when, or where I got it from, but I got it even though I don't know anyone personally who's been sick or ill nor have I been in contact with too many people. So strange. Perhaps I contracted it while at the Bjork concert last Monday night, at the grocery store on Tuesday, or even when I went shopping on Wednesday. Wierd. Luckily my Oso is not ill.

Hmmm....this is my 4th infection this year! First it was the wisdom teeth infection, then the toe infection from the hike, and then the eye infection a few weeks ago, and now this tonsil infection. Somehow my immune system doesn't seem as strong as it used to be before I turned 30. I hope my health is not deteriorating.

The sore throat started last Wedensday after I decided to take a few puffs of something that made me relax. I thought it was just the normal thing to happen after smoking that stuff. Not this time. The pain never ceased. In fact, it got worse and worse. Thursday night I was having chills. Friday morning, I woke up extra early for our family trip out to the bay area.

I ended up spending the majority of the weekend sleeping on the floor of my sis's new apartment while everyone went out shopping and to get a view of the area. We thought I had the flu at first, though I thought it strange that I had no runny nose, no coughing, and no sneezing symptoms....just muscle aches, chills, extreme sore throat, and headaches. I had a fever Friday night. By Saturday, I was on antibiotics and at the same time, I noticed white spots on both sides of my swollen tonsils. That's when I figured it was strep. It made sense.

We got back into LA late Monday night. I'm not in pain anymore, but I'm still feeling naseau. I barfed a banana and a kiwi last night. There's still white stuff on my tonsils. Looks nasty.

Cold Crab

So while up north, I did spend one day out with the family at Fisherman's Wharf. In fact, I drove us over the bay bridge since it is unbearable for any of us to sit in a car when my dad's in the driver's seat. Normally you want to watch out for crazy drivers. In our case, you should watch out for my dad if he's driving. Man, he's dangerous out there. I have flinched so many times while watching him almost hit other cars and watching other cars avoid being hit by him. Yikes. I think my dad would win a "Most Honked At" award if there were one.

Anyway, while at Fisherman's Wharf, we had some cold crab and clam chowder bread bowls. Let me tell you that I did not fancy the cold crab. Yuck. I thought we were going to eat some mouthwatering, butter drenched warm crab, but no. How disappointing. It was no help that my throat still ached and it hurt to swallow anything.

Explosion

While waiting in line to pay the toll fee to drive over the bay bridge, we saw a gardener's truck go up in flames. It started out small, and then we heard a small explosion and the flames got bigger. Luckily, we were about 5 toll lanes away, though practically parallel to it when the explosion went off. People were honking for the toll collectors to hurry up and take their money so they could get away from the explosive truck. I have to admit, I was a little scared and a bit annoyed that the toll collector in our lane was just too busy watching the truck, taking his time accepting people's toll fees when cars all around us were honking at them to hurry up.

LBC

So since I'm already better and shouldn't be contagious anymore due to having been on antibiotics for over 5 days, I might go hang out in the LBC tomorrow night to watch my Oso's friend's band play somewhere over there. Not sure, though. I'll see how I'm feeling tomorrow night. I'm not too crazy about the band's music, but it'd be a different scene I haven't hung out with Oso before. I miss Oso. He took care of my kitty and froggies while I was gone. And like a good bf, he called me every day without my asking. I haven't seen him in nearly a week. I miss my Oso!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.