Wednesday, Sept. 03, 2003

9:57 p.m.

Sourpuss Mom

So a pair of very long time friends from way back during my first year of college is finally getting hitched after 14 years of dating. I was so thrilled that I squealed with happiness when I found out. They have asked me to be a bridesmaid and I happily accepted. It's always an honor when asked. However, this will mark my third time as one. No matter. I'd do it a fourth or fifth time if given the honor.

Anyway, my mom just called so I annouced the news to her. This is our conversation:

Mom: "They're going to buy your dress, right?"
Me: "I don't know...most likely not."
Mom: "They're supposed to. Your cousin bought your dress when she had her wedding."
Me: "Well, that's because her family is filthy rich and they wanted to. Besides, most bridesmaids I know have all had to purchase their dresses. Not every bride and groom is wealthy these days. And, I don't mind, it's an honor to be asked to be in the wedding party."
Mom: "They should be buying your dress."

I don't get her. Why can't she be happy for other people? I tell her some good news and she has to turn it around and make it seem like a bad thing. I hate that! So then she changes the subject.

Mom: "Is the groom the Vietnamese one you went to college with?"
Me: "Yes."
Mom: "You know a lot of those Vietnamese people are gang members. What if you get shot at the wedding? You better be careful."
Me: "Oh my gosh mom! Why do you always think of the worst things? You always have something bad to say about everything. Besides, the groom is my friend and he's never been associated with any gangs. I've known him for a long time now."

I also wanted to tell her, "How would you like it if someone found out you were Taiwanese and they said, "Oh...you know those Taiwanese folks, they think they're better than everyone else...flashing their riches and always talking shit about others. And man, do they talk loud in public sounding like chickens."

Sometimes I don't know how it is that I am her daughter. We're so different. Sometimes I feel like I'm the adult and she's the child and that I have to educate her and remind her that times are different and people are different.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.