Saturday, Sept. 11, 2004

9:34 p.m.

today i had a little scare with fire.

i was sitting at my desk burning and printing cds for oso's show tonight. my cat was busy running around making cute little growls while chasing this big ass fly that had somehow sneaked into my apartment. around the same time, i noticed this smell.

it smelled kinda good at first and i thought maybe someone was cooking up a meal. after further sniffing, i realized it was becoming more and more of a burning smell. so i walked into the kitchen to see if maybe i accidently left one of the kitchen appliances on and as i did so, i realized the smell was only in my bedroom. so i went back into my bedroom and quickly looked around and then that's when i saw smoke from the top of my tall halogen lamp!

"shit!' i thought and quickly turned off the lamp. i pulled up a chair next to the lamp, climbed on top of it, bent the lamp slightly over and peeked at its top. and there lay a huge ass fly directly beneath the long bulb. it was burnt to a crisp, nice and charcoal on it's back with it's legs sticking up in the air.

and i thought, "what the hell? how in the world did that fly end up being cooked by my lamp? i guess it must of somehow decided to land on the hot bulb area. stupid fly. it could have caused a fire! can you imagine that? "fly catches on fire over a halogen lamp, causing apartment building to go up in flames." not good.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.