Friday, Oct. 26, 2001

12:43 p.m.

I need some lovin' right now.

RIGHT now, I say.

Growing up, my mother used to tell me little tales of white lies. Of course, I think I was always too smart to believe her most of the time. But now, now i think otherwise.

She'd tell me that if I kept biting my nails, worms would start growing inside my belly. Worms never grew, at least not that I've noticed. To top it off, I even bit my toenails just to prove it to her that it wasn't true. Uh, yeah, so I was a toenail biter.

Then, there was the rice tale. Over dinner she'd tell me that, for every teensie piece of rice I left behind, I'd end up with a spot on my skin. At the time, I imagined that's why my grandpa was so "spotty", not realizing that they were just age spots or sun spots.

My mom has a lot of freckles and I remembed at one point, I became a little smart-ass and retorted with a "Mom, is that why you have all those little brown specks on your face?"

So, my face is starting to look like leopard skin. I'm breaking out like a greasy-faced 16-yr old. The suckers are leaving scars here and there. Also, over the years, I've slowly accumulated a few freckles. Of course, it seems I'm always the only one who notices. Everyone else would just say, "What zit? What spot?" I think they're just being nice.

Now, I am all grown up and do you know what? I'm starting to wonder if the rice-spot tale is true.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.