Tuesday, Dec. 16, 2003

1:52 a.m.

Revealing of the Surprise

So what was the big surprise I got Oso after getting a bunch of people to pitch in for it? It was a 40GB ipod. He's beening wanting it for so long now. His reaction when he tore open one end of the giftwrap and saw what lay beneath was, "No way, No way. No way." And then it was, "Oh, it's too much. It's too much. It's too much."

He said he was so surprised and touched that he almost cried.

I almost made Oso cry out of happiness. I'd give him everything he wanted if I could and more...though he'd get mad at me if I did. He doesn't want people spending money on him.

His band had their 2nd show Friday night. So many people showed up. Out of the 3 bands that played, the last one being a signed band, his band had the most folks watching and listening. Somehow his music always seem to captivate people, getting them to pay attention. I only have one complaint: the vocals are still too soft.

Their demo with four tracks is done. Every single copy was handed out that evening and more will have to be made for those who didn't get a copy. The demo sounds awesome, vocals are audible. Perfect. Everyone I invited came up to me that evening and either said, "Oh my gosh, he is really good!" or "Rachel, I didn't know he was that good!" or "Man, they sound great! Does he have a cd out?"

A group of us went out for some grub at Norm's at 3:30 in the morning.

Saturday

After getting home at 5:30am in the morning, we slept until the damn phone rang at 11:15. It was my wake-up call. I was expecting some guests over so we could go meet with a wedding photographer and look at some bridal dresses. No, I'm not the one getting married, but my friend is. So we spent the entire afternoon doing just that. I'll be doing that again this Saturday. I make an excellent bridesmaid.

Afterwards, I made reservations at The Stinking Rose for Oso and I. It was my birthday dinner to him, a day early as we wouldn't have time the following day. Oh, it was so yummy and I've never ate so much garlic in my life. Yum! I had filet mignon and Oso had lamb. I love the decor of that restaurant.

After dindin, we met up at my friend's house where we met other peeps to attend this private company xmas party in Hollywood. It was a dvd production company party and the band, American Hi Fi played there. Kinda cool. It's not really Oso's type of music since it sounds just like every other mainstream band out there, but I enjoyed it. Of course, I'm not so much of a music snob as he and his music buddies.

Sunday

Sunday was Oso's real birthday. We spend the morning and early afternoon together watching tv on the sofa and just snuggling up, relaxing before he had to meet up with his family and do their traditional family bday thing. Later, we went to see The Last Samurai which we both really enjoyed.

Website

So I've designed a website and I can't reveal the name here in case it's linked back to me, but because of it, someone else is interested in hiring me to design their website cuz they love how I did this other site! I was so excited that I screamed for 15 minutes on and off."

Headhunters

Oh, and more good news. I've been hunted. A recruitment team wants to hire me and find me work so they make some commission, as well. Kinda cool, huh? I actually met with the recruiter today and she loves my style. They've been pursuing me for about a month now so they must really have potential work for me. I'm excited. Let's see where it will all go. I'd like to keep on freelancing for a bit before picking up a full-time gig. I love the freedom of freelancing. This isn't the first time I've been hunted, but it's the first time where I think I will try it out.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.