Thursday, Oct. 03, 2002

8:43 p.m.

Rearended

Monday morning I was driving to work when not more than 2 minutes after leaving home, I was rearended by a really old man with a handicap sign hanging on his rearview mirror. I was waiting for the light to turn green when bam, I felt this hard push and a loud bang. I felt myself being shoved foward about a foot and I heard myself saying, "shit!"

It was sprinkling. I stopped my engine, turned on the emergency lights and got out of the car. The guy didn't even come out. He just sat there in his car. I checked to see how much damage there was but luckily and to my surprise I found no damage. Amazing. This was no small bump. It felt fairly hard. Either my VW Jetta is strong than I thought or just maybe the old man's car had the sort of old rubber bumper so it couldn't do as much damage. Still, the old man didn't come out and so I walked up to his window. He rolled down his window with a silly old man's grin on his face, big white teeth, wrinkled skin, glasses, and a baseball cap. I found myself thinking, "Damn, you are really old and I'm glad there's no damage cuz then I'd feel bad if there were and I'd have to report it." I found myself saying to him, "It's ok, there's no damage." He smiles some more and says graciously, "Thank you, thank you."

Once I got to work, I found myself shaken up. I think it was shock or something...maybe disbelief. Do you know what sort of feeling of talking about? I was sorta trembling, anxious.

--------------------------------------------------

Winter

Fall is here. I felt the change over the weekend. The cold air. The rain. The wind. The way my apartment feels a bit too cold that I had to dig out an extra comforter. I found myself calling the apartment manager and asking him how I can turn on my gas fireplace. The cold is a nice change.

--------------------------------------------------

Surgery

Last night, my sister and I went to the UCLA Medical Center to visit my cousin who just had surgery.

She had a huge tumor the size of a grapefruit in her uterus, which she first felt 3 weeks ago. At first, she thought nothing of it since she didn't have any weird symtoms until the frequent urination came with little unrine and no pain. A week before the surgery, she donated a pint of blood for herself. During the operation, she lost 2/3 of her blood and they had to find 2 more pints elsewhere. Pretty scary, huh? I had no idea until my dad called and told me about it. She's only a year older than I, newly married, and no kids. I hope she'll still be able to have kids without any problems. When I saw her she told me not to ever wait so long if I ever feel a weird lump anywhere. Something like that can grow so rapidly that it becomes dangerous, like in her case. I'm just glad she's still alive. It's weird seeing someone you normally see healthy lying so week in the hospital.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.