Friday, Jan. 21, 2005

1:20 a.m.

Poppycock & Spotted Dick

Ok, how the heck do people come up with these names for food products?

First, Poppycock: How did Harold Vair come up with this name for his creation of his delicious glazed mixed nut snack?

According to most modern dictionaries based on my research online, "the Dutch word pappekak means soft faeces. The scatological associations were lost when the word moved into the English-language community. The first half of the word is closely related to our pap for infants� soft food; the second half is essentially the same as the old English cack for excrement."

Second, Spotted Dick: This is a popular British pudding dessert that is steamed and log-shaped with currants. Well, it seems like we know why it's called "spotted" but where does the "dick" part come from? It seems no one really knows but sources think it may be an ancienct corruption of the word for "dough."

I think if I ever get around to entertaining at my new place, I'm going to serve both of these, with labels indicating what they are. In fact, I think it might be kinda fun to throw a little cocktail party with all sorts of foods that sound "dirty." Heck, I own a couple of coffee table conversation books including, "Femalia" and "Sextrology."

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.