Thursday, Nov. 15, 2001

2:05 a.m.

I swear, I had something good to write about earlier, but I forgot what it was. Dammit.

Oh yes....I have this really annoying problem that makes me want to call myself bad names and bury my head in a hole out of embarrassment. [Visualize an ostrich...only it's me, all cute and decked out in feathered plumes. Sometimes I also see myself turning into one of those shrinking head voodoo dolls.]

See, every time I leave a message in someone's guestbook, I always go back and reread it to see how it sounds before I hit the "submit" button. The problem is for some odd reason I always end up finding some sort of grammatical or spelling error after the fact. Then, I find myself freezing in my seat, eyes widening, and muttering, "Shit, shit, shit!" It never fails and I can't fathom why I don't at least use spellcheck or type everything in a word-correcting application first.

It seems I do the same thing here on my diaryland entries. I ALWAYS go back and reread what I write, only to find the same errors...usually it's with past and present tense type stuff. The thing is I know when I've made a mistake, but at the same time, I feel completely stupid and start thinking, "Geez, well no wonder fewer and fewer people are reading me." I mean, whenever I find a diary that has all these grammatical or spelling errors, it sort of turns me off and makes me not want to read further. So, that being said, I start thinking my writing sucks. Maybe it does, but I figure we all like different styles. Some people are going to think I'm completely boring while others are going to love me.

--------------------------------------------------

Have you been reviewed? I sooo want to be reviewed, but not after I make my layout more aesthetically pleasing, add a links page, and go back to edit out errors that were left behind. It will be my inspiration to hurry up and make changes.

--------------------------------------------------

Should online diarists have photos of themselves up for all to see? I often wonder about that, whether it'd be a good or bad thing. Sometimes, I think it would make the diary a bit more appealing, matching the face of the writer with the written words. Yet, at the same time, I also wonder if it would "scare" readers away. Of course, sometimes I think remaining "faceless" creates a mystical aura. For example, I'd find a diary filled with interesting words and I'd keep going back for more, all the while secretly hoping I'd somehow stumble upon some hidden photo of the writer.

--------------------------------------------------

Ok, so I think Thunderstorm has been convinced to start a Diary Digest. Yay! But, that might have to wait, as he is about to leave for a trip to Japan. Hey, Thunderman! You bet you'll be getting more than moral support from me. And, it sounds like Nmallory will be in on it, as well. Woohoo. Thunder....you naughty boy, you've got a couple of us fems possibly willing to give more than moral support! (I think my mind is in the gutter as it is 3 a.m...Christ!)

--------------------------------------------------

Ok, one last thing. EVERYONE must visit Nictate. My god, she is one incredible writer who cracks me up and makes me feel so much better when I'm feeling blue just well.....because she goes through similar situations I go through, yet she explains it in the most amazing, humorously creative ways, like her recent "court of courting" entry. I swear, reading that entry was like reading my own dating dilema with one certain online boy.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.