Thursday, Jun. 03, 2004

3:03 a.m.

Yesterday during lunch time, an old man with a cane scared the crap out of me. I was just sitting there in my car waiting for the red light to turn green when out of nowhere I heard a little "tap tap tap" on the passenger side of the window. Naturally, I turned to look and practically hit my head on the roof of the car. I didn't expect this old man to be staring into my passenger side window. I don't even know where he came from. It was as if he all of a sudden appeared out of nowhere.

Hesitantly, I rolled down my window about 3/4 of the way, almost accidently rolling it all the way down until I realized it might be dangerous to roll it even half-way down.

The old man then said to me, "Do you have a dollar for the bus?" I lied. I said, "I'm sorry I don't have any cash on me. I had to purchase groceries with an ATM card." I saw the old man look down onto my passenger side seat where my purse and grocery bag sat. He looked at it as if he wanted to see what was inside my purse or perhaps he thought about snatching it out of my car. I know, what an awful thing for me to think, but what can I say? Wouldn't you have thought the same thing if someone where staring at your wallet or purse?

I quickly rolled up the window as soon as he backed his face away from my window. I could've sworn his nose reached inside my car. Scary.

As soon as I drove away, slight guilt overcame me. I thought, "What if he really needed a buck for that bus ride home or wherever he needed to go?" Then, I quickly tried to erase the guilt thinking, "What if that's what he did all day...trying to collect as much as he could, using his unfortunate cane-depending old self to lure people into feeling sorry for him?" And then I thought, "Hey! I just tried to save a buck or two on lunch because it's not like I can spend money like water. I work hard for my bucks and I need all I can to payoff whatever I owe to the credit card company, my car loan and my parents. I am in debt if you ask me."

My best lines for warding beggars away are:
1. I don't have any cash on me. (If I just purchased stuff from the store, I say, "I don't have any cash on me, I had to pay with my debit card."
2. You know what? I just got laid off. (usually right away, they'll immediately say, "oh man, i'm sorry" and back away. ooh...and it works well over the phone with sales reps, too, but usually i hang up on them before they can say anything...you can tell it's a telemarketer when you pick up the phone, say hello and no one says anything for a few seconds.) I love hanging up on them people before they can even say anything. Once, I even walked into the bathroom and flushed the toilet a few times. They ended up hanging up on me. I think if I'm in the mood to be even more mischievous, I might pretend to moan and groan as if having sex or pretend like they've somehow called a phone sex operator. Ha! That would be so freakin funny. Or, I can simply try to talk their ears off by telling them all about my horrible day not allowing them to speak until I ask them what I should do about my problem. And then if they try to sell me some sort of service, I'd throw a crazy temper tantrum and see if it'll drive them nuts. Is that mean or what? I hope no one who has a job as a telemarketer reads this. I'm sure they already hate their jobs. It must be one of the worst jobs out there other than cleaning toilets or taking care of garbage.

I must sound like an awful, mean-spirited person right now. I'm really not, I'm just being honest. Oh, you know those spammers? I wonder what would happen if you reply back to a spammer 100 times in a row with large attachments? Would that clog up their mailbox? Has anyone tried? Or would that not do anything good for me? Or would they get me back by spamming me twice as hard? CAN you reply back to a spammer? Does it do any good?

God, I need to get to bed. My brain is thinking way too much. I need to sleep.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.