Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2003

1:38 a.m.

No Toenail!!!!

So do you remember a couple of months ago I went on that 9 mile hike and injured my toenails? Well, a few of my toenails, particularly both big toenails ended up being bruised and turned black & blue. In the past few weeks, I noticed that the left toenail seemed a bit hollow whenever I trimmed it.

Anyway, tonight, I accidently stubbed that toenail on a big, heavy toolbox that I use to block my bedroom door in order to keep my cat out of my room at night. When I turned the light on, I flipped! My entire toenail was sticking straight up in the air, perpendicular to my toe! It hurt for a few seconds and then it didn't hurt anymore. There was no blood. I thought maybe I could pull the entire nail out, but I couldn't. It was still attached at the cuticle.

I debated on whether to go to the emergency room to get it completely removed, but decided I could probably somehow cut it off. I found my handy little swiss army knife and used the sharp miniature scissors to carefelly cut my toenail off. It worked. No pain.

It seems there is a hard uneven membrane of some sort that looks like skin where the nail used to be. What is this? Will my toenail grow back? My toe looks so funny without a nail. I have it covered under a bandage to protect it for now. Please tell me the nail will grow back. Poor me!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.