Thursday, Apr. 08, 2004

2:07 a.m.

Yesterday was my first day on the job at my new workplace. Yup. I got it. And to think I was all depressed Monday night because I had not heard back from the company by the date they mentioned after the interview. Not only that, I was depressed because another interested company called and wanted to schedule interview dates with me but only after I answer some questions.

Unfortunately, I failed the first question which was, "What is your salary requirement?" Ha! I even asked what range they were looking to hire for. I was still way too expensive for them.

Back to the company that did hire me. So the next morning I got the job offer call. The hiring art director says to me, "How would you like to come work for us?" I said, "I would love to!" It was great. I was so relieved. The rate is also excellent and I will be getting more hours than initially thought. I was quite surprised and pleased! Finally, a company that pays above what I had expected. Also, it seems they're a bit flexible with what time I get in and leave, which is pretty cool. I also sorta have my own office space. It's a room toward the back and at the end of a hallway. There are two large printers in there. So far it seems they're mainly being used by me and the art director. Her office is down the hallway from mine and in between us is a conference room.

I am working on a very fast G4 with a 21" or maybe bigger Sony monitor. I was told they're planning on getting an Apple LCD screen to replace it soon since it's a bit old. I hadn't even noticed it being old. How exciting! Not only that, I was told that the company is really good with giving you requests whether it be office equipment or hiring hands. The art director said she asked for a laptop and she got one within days. Isn't that cool? Maybe if I'm there long enough I can ask for a new desk? Ha! I'd probably be too timid to do that. I'm not very found of the furniture they have...all kinda outdated. I supposed it's because the company's been around for a while. The important thing is the computer, printer, monitor, software and any other hardware equipment is updated, which it is.

I was taken around the office to meet people and to get a tour of everything. When we came to the kitchen, she said, "And here's the kitchen." And my god, it really literally was a kitchen....like a HUGE kitchen in someone's home.

Next to the kitchen or down the hallway was a GIANTIC conference room. I have never seen one that big before unless you count the ones at convention centers. There's actually 4 conference rooms but not all of them are that big.

I guess we take up part of the 2nd and 3rd floors on the right side of the building so here is actually a spiral stairway. I'm on the 2nd flour. The whole building is pretty big with an atrium court and a cafe on the main floor.

Our parking is underground parking beneath the building and tandem. I will be parked tandem with the art director. They gave me a neat little wallet-size card for me to scan myself in and out of the parking area. I've never had this sort of card so it makes me feel a little special. Haha.

Driving to work is a breeze...just 20 minutes but coming home is not so easy. I may just decide to leave work a little earlier each day so I don't have to drive for an hour. That or take a shortcut. Oso says he knows of a shortcut around the 405. I hope it'll really save time.

Oh! And I work about 2 minutes away from the new Sherman Oaks Galleria. How nice is that? I went there during lunch to shop. Ok, maybe not such a great thing to be near a shopping mall. I'd spend all my money before I make any. Actually, I have pretty good self-control these days. It is convenient for getting last minute gifts. I bought a last minute gift for a friend's birthday on my first visit since the friend's birthday is actually today.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.