Tuesday, Jul. 22, 2003

8:31 p.m.

Much Better

Today was a much better day than yesterday. I wasn't feeling all blue like I was yesterday. Strange how one day I'm completely down, feeling like there's no tomorrow and then the next I'm perfectly fine. What the heck is this? I don't get it. I just wake up a certain way and that's how my day goes. Do I have a chemical imbalance?

I still despise my boss, though. He just pisses me off. He pisses everyone else off. Sometimes I think he's the main reason why I hate my job. I mean, the days that seem to go well are the days when he's not even there or hardly around. I wish he'd take a long vacation. (I'm looking for a new job, but it's so hard to get called in for an interview. If anyone knows of a place that's hiring print graphic designers or art directors, please let me know.)

Anyway, he always gets these ideas last minute and most of the time they're awful ideas. Or, like I'd come up with this great layout for a brochure or whatever and then last minute he'd want me to try it his way....ruining my perfectly balanced creation. I hate that. I'd try it his way cuz HE wants to see it that way even though I tell him it's not going to look good. "Try it anyway." he'd say. So I go and give him a version the way he suggests and he ends up agreeing that it looks bad. Man, you'd think he'd have gotten it by now that I'm always right when it comes to these things. The whole reason he hired a a designer (me) was so his marketing stuff could look good and there he goes thinking he could do it, too, trying to art direct me. I absolutely hate it when nondesigners try to tell me what to do or give me suggestions I already know ain't gonna work. That's the whole reason I'm around. I know right off the bat what's gonna work and what ain't gonna work. The thing is, he thinks he's got an eye for stuff and he doesn't. Everyone at my work knows it. So today, one of my coworkers said to me, "Rach, don't let him ruin your design. Be firm." And with that, I felt much better.

Everyone is always telling me how awesome my work is. I only wish more people could see it. God, I need a better place to work at....a place where the upper management understands that creatives need to be rewarded in special ways to keep us happy and on our feet to do our best for the company. Otherwise, we go a bit sour. It's just a tad bit hard where I am since I'm pretty much the soul creative. *sigh*

Pasta Mania

So I've been trying out these recipes from "Everyday Italian" on Food TV network. Sunday, I made spaghetti with garlic, red pepper, basil and olive oil. I gave it an extra twist by adding in chopped tomatoes and chopped turkey sausage instead of chopped parsley and chopped mint (I forgot to buy those herbs.) It was quite good. Today, I made penne a la carbonara from the same show. That turned out pretty good, as well. There's just so much left over even though I made half of what the recipe called for.

I feel like putting it in a disposable tuppleware and giving it to some homeless person or even offering it to my two new male neighbors upstairs, but instead, they're sitting in the frig now. I even thought of inviting some friends over to eat the rest of it but then I decided I didn't want them hanging out for more than 10 minutes. And, oso is busy tonight with work, plus he's not into pasta. My oso is more of a chicken and rice eater. Whenever you ask him what he ate, he'd usually say, "chicken." Mmmm...oso...I miss oso. I miss sniffing him, touching him, grabbing his goatee, and rubbing his little belly. I wish oso would want to live with me so I can have him within my reach every day.

PumePume got Highlighted

Ok, that's not exactly true, but it was close. So last night I decided to touch up on my highlights using L'oreal's Feria highlighting kit. I was in the bathroom putting in my last streaks when he came in and sat on the toilet. While he sat there, I accidently splattered a chunk of the creme mixure on his fur. It landed right on the side of his right neck. He rubbed it with his paw and then there was red creme all over the toilet seat cover. I had to grab him and rinse him off in the shower. He screamed his kitty screams so loud. It was horrible. Luckily, I was able to close the shower door and pour some water on him. As I turned around in the tub to fill the bucket with more water, he disapeared from behind me.....I looked up and there he was flying over the shower door. Amazing. Kitty just did not like being washed. I had the bathroom door locked so he couldn't get out. The bathroom floor with soaked with water and I had a wet cat skirming under me. I was finally able to rinse him off fully, dry him up, and blow dry him a bit. Next time I know better than to leave the bathroom door open when I'm in there highlighting my hair.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.