Friday, Oct. 10, 2003

1:52 a.m.

Interviews

Today I was contacted by two companies to set up an interview with them. I am sooo excited! Funny how they always call you around the same time. It's been a whole month since my last interview. Wow. Time flies. Well, I have been kept busy with freelance gigs via word of mouth so I haven't been desperately looking for work. No need for that as of yet.

I'm just surprised and excited people are calling. The first company that contacted me today was one that I sent out a resume to about 3 weeks ago. When I first saw their ad and read the job description, I was like, "I totally want this job! I'd be perfect for it." AND, in my cover letter, that's exactly what I expressed as well as how I've been a fan of their products since I was a little girl. I have a feeling they are just starting to set up interviews with people after reviewing resumes since they gave me a choice of a two-week timespan to choose my interview date and time. Wow. I chose the first slot. I hope that was a good choice. I'm anxious to go in there and see their work environment and see what they have to offer. My interview is Monday morning. This is for a full-time position.

The second company was one that actually pursued me about 8-9 months ago. They found my online portfolio and wanted me to freelance for them onsite but at the time my full-time job at hellhole was in the way and I wasn't ready to just quit. So today, I got an email from their creative director saying she really liked my portfolio and would like to meet me. My interview with them is tomorrow morning! They want me to bring any fine art such as paintings and drawings, as well. Interesting. This is for freelance or full-time.

What I'm hoping for is that I can get full-time work at one company with a great vacation or time-off package right away and still get freelance on the side with the other company. Ideally, it'd be great if both places just want to give me freelance. That way I have more room to try out different places. I need to figure out if I want to remain a freelancer and get steady freelance or if I want to go back to a full-time job. It's tough. I love the freedom of freelancing, but I love having a steady paycheck. I guess in the long run, maybe I should stick to freelance for now as I think that is what my heart desires. Whenever I've had a full-time job, I've felt like a slave. Do I want to be a slave and make money or do I want to be free and make less money? Of course, I can always be free and make even more money, but that takes time building good clients. So then it would be a choice between being patient and being impatient.

Agh...I haven't even gone in for the intereviews yet and here I am wasting time wondering "what if?"

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.