Sunday, Oct. 07, 2001

11:46 p.m.

I have been lazy and haven't updated my html problem here, yet. Perhaps I am still burnt out after spending all last Sunday trying to get it working right.

Anyway, a few wonderful people wrote and tried to help me out. Thank you thunderstorm, kuinileti, nayzhere, and Eric.

In the near future, I'm going to add a links column, as well. It might be awhile, but I'll get there, somehow.

So, this weekend, I did some drinking. Not so much drinking that I was merely buzzed or even drunk, but a little here and there.

Friday night, I drove down to Cerritos where I met up with 4 friends for dinner. The party consisted of one couple, one broken up couple who are still buds, and me. We split up into two groups: 3 girls in one silver Beetle and 2 guys in one big, blue truck.

Dinner was to be had at this family-owned Hawaiian restaurant called, "The Loft."

So, there we were, the five of us sitting in the booth, all excited to try some Hawaiian dishes fresh off the grill. I decided to get the spicy, sausage patties, with two eggs, over rice.

It never came.

I had made a quick run for the ladies room after ordering and when I came out, which couldn't have been more than a minute, the restaurant was filled with this thin layer of smoke.

Something was burning. Not burning-burning, but enough so that I noticed the smoke. I made my way back to the table and uttered out, "Wow, there's a lot of smoke in here. I hope they didn't burn my sausage patties."

A moment later, the waitress came back and apologized to us, saying that they had a little accident in the kitchen and we could only order two items off the menu. As much as we were disappointed, we stayed and ordered one of the two items while everyone else cleared out of the restaurant.

I had the Lau Lau and manua manua or something like that. I can't remember the name exactly, but it was a lot of shreaded pork and some sort of fish wrapped in this big black leaf, white rice, macaroni salad, and some salsa-like sauce. Very good and tasty.

After we gobbled down our food, the owner of the restaurant came up to us and announced that dinner was on him. Now, isn't that nice?! I was feeling pretty darn lucky after that.

Saturday

-Worked from 7:15 a.m. until 1:30 p.m.

-Went home and slept for a few hours.

-Drove down to Downtown Disney to meet up with friends for a birthday gathering at Catal Restaurant. Got there an hour late due to getting lost in awful traffic. Ordered the $17.95 salmon dish, had some good red wine, and a bite of this amazingly orgasmic fried banana desert. Oh, my god, it was good.

-We then walked around and browsed in some of the stores before heading over to the House of Blues for the NYC Relief Fund event. We ended up getting in for free since a friend of a friend of a friend there had a couple of $20 tickets that he was giving away, so we all got in for free, although I did contribute a couple bucks for the NYC Relief Fund. Talk about getting lucky twice in consecutive days.

Sunday

I slept all day except between 12 noon and 2 p.m. when a freelance client came over to work on some labels with me. Now I can't sleep because I slept all day and it's past midnight. Crap. Oh, and I am really, really craving for some of that orgasmic fried banana desert. Damnit!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.