Monday, Jan. 14, 2002

12:23 a.m.

All great epic love stories end in tragedy. I think? At least that was how it was for Shakespeare's Romeo & Juliet, James Cameron's Titanic, Warner Bros's 1998 City of Angels, Touchstone Pictures's 2001 Pearl Harbor and now, more recently, Baz Luhrmann's Moulin Rouge.

These movies all protray the type of love that I crave...minus the tragic ending. It's the type filled with passion and romance - sweet tender moments that fill my belly with butterflies and my eyes with tears.

Sometimes, I wonder if that sort of love still exists and I wonder if I would ever truly experience it again. It's been far too long since I've been in that situation and I'm afraid I'm out of practice.

Anyway, I finally saw Moulin Rouge last Thursday evening after giving my sister a last-minute call asking if she'd like to go see the darn movie with me. We were both so mesmerized by it that now we both want to get the cd and the dvd.

Moulin Rouge woke me up. It gave me hope that maybe, perhaps there are still men out there who would rather fall in love than head straight for the bed sheets. It made me realize what I need to do and not do when it comes to dating.

I'm at an age where I don't want to just mess around anymore. I want something with substance, trust, and friendship. Because really, if you think about it, when you grow old and gray, what you look like on the exterior won't be as important as the conversations you hold with your significant other. But, I also realize that I need to be attracted to the other person on the exterior to a certain degree at this age and time.

--------------------------------------------------

My 24" flat screen Toshiba tv arrived in LA at the holding dock on Friday, but I forgot to check my messages after I came back from lunch until it was almost time to go home. Damnit! They should have little beeping or flashing indicators that let you know when you get a message.

--------------------------------------------------

I hit Puma for the first time yesterday. It was just a little smack on his rearend when he wouldn't stop biting the PS2 game control cable. I just totally lost my temper, screamed out a "Stop biting that you stupid cat!" and then, wham! I even heard a little smack. Puma just ran away and then sat around next to me for a few minutes without doing anything. Finally, he just stayed away and fell asleep on my bed. Poor thing. I promised myself no hitting Puma anymore. I absolutely adore my little Puma. In fact, I'm going to go hug and dance around with him right now. Gee, I wish I had a guy who would feel that way for me - the same way I feel for Puma...the craving and irresistable urge to just go up and hug the darn thing!

--------------------------------------------------

Oh, yes. I almost forgot to mention I rented Legally Blond on dvd this weekend. What a great little movie. I want a man like the character Luke Wilson protrays in that movie. Smart, handsome, sweet, truthful, witty, honest, and genuine.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.