Friday, Sept. 20, 2002

1:16 p.m.

"Out of my league"

I rented Shallow Hal last night and the words, "Out of my league" caught my attention, bringing back memories of past conversations I've had with different people.

Since then, it's been bugging me and I can't seem to shake this feeling away....obsessed with trying to find out what it's definition means, trying to figure out how it was used on me, if it were positive or negative.

For the most part, I've always thought of it as a positive thing or compliment towards a girl, but now I'm thinking it could work the other way.

I mean, I know what it means. It's just that I've always thought of it as a phrase guys used to describe a really goodlooking girl he doesn't ever think he'd get to date...sorta like putting her on a pedestal and seeing her as some sort of goddess.

On the negative side, is it possible to tell a girl, "I thought you were out of my league." and meant it as in, "You're just totally different than I am."

Such an example would be like the guy's a video game nut and the girl's a camping venturer...she's all into the outdoors and he's all into computers or electronic equipment.

So I guess I'm just trying to figure out how this phrase is often used....if it's meant as a compliment towards someone or if it's just used to say that someone is just totally into other things than you are and that most likely the two people would never be caught together because they somehow are just too different and wouldn't match up?

So what is it? Why am I so obsessed with finding out at this moment? I guess it's just that, that phrase has been used to describe me by a couple of friends of mine or guys I've gone out with when they end up telling me what they thought of me. For the most part, from the tone of it, they meant it as a compliments unless I just didn't pay enough attention to what they really meant.

I would really like some split pea soup for lunch today, but how I hate to eat alone in a restaurant. Fred S's has really good split pea, but I think that's a bit too far from my work. Crap. Where should I go? Need split pea soup. Mouth wants it.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.