2000-June-02

11:50 pm

I've noticed that computer technicians tend to have this 'know it all' attitude. Now, I'm not saying that ALL computer technicians are like that, but the ones I've come across seem that way. The ones I know are kinda impatient, anal-retentive, and sorta dorkish. They tend to talk with a certain flair as if they are SMARTER than you are or in such a way that implies they LOVE to tell you what they know. My theory is that they're smarter than you or I in the sense that they know more about computers and such. Now, put them in a different environment and watch how they fare.

The reason I bring this up is because I just had a computer tech come over and fix my computer problems. Yay! Ok, so this guy's name is Jorge and he's about 5'6", not too tall, a little on the chubby side, but not too much. He's got a tatoo of a snake around his left wrist and a MAC Apple icon up higher on his upper arm. Hahaha. Get it? You know, the bible story on Eve, the snake, and the apple.

So, anyway, he's got long, curly hair tied up in a single ponytail that could be a 'fro' if he chose to brush it out. He's also got these huge, really super thick glasses that completely magnifies his eyes like 10x. Ok, are you visualizing this? My friend, Orit described him as scary. I don't think he looks scary, just a little out of the ordinary. He's one of those people who you'd recognize right away if you saw them a second time.

So, anyway Jorge is really nice and he charges me very reasonably, which I'm quite grateful for. But....Jorge is one of those computer techs I just described above. He also likes to talk to himself while working. Sometimes, I think he's talking to me and then I realize he's talking to the computer or to himself. He was here for a whole two hours AND he was an hour an a half late! I did not hear from him the first 45 minutes he was late so then I paged him and he called right back to tell me he's running behind working with another client. Um, so like he could've called me earlier to let me know.

One thing about me is that I HATE waiting. I am one of the most impatient and jittery people I know when it comes to having to wait for someone you've made an appointment with. It's even worse since I had to rush back home after work through a miserable 45 minutes of sitting in traffic.

I HAD to rush home so that I could clean up my room, which lately has been looking like a tornado went through it. I had clothes scattered all over the place, dirty underwear lying on the carpet and hanging on the doorknobs. My bathroom trash can has been overflowing for the past week. There's hairballs stuck on the carpet. My bed is a mess and there are books, grocery receipts, and junkmail thrown in every corner. Plus, I had to clean the toilet and rid the hair I'd stuck on the bathtub wall so that it wouldn't flush down the drain and clog it up. Yes, that's how messy my living quarters has been for the past week or so. Ugh. It's definitely not a pretty sight and I am normally not a slob.

Today, as Hooch and I were leaving for lunch in her white, Honda civic, these two guys in this big, white truck made notice of us. I like all this attention lately. It keeps me in check. So, we're in her car getting ready to make a left turn out onto the street and the driver of the truck passes slowly in front of us smiling, mouthing a 'hi', and giving us a little wave. I smile back. We turn and end up behind the truck. Then, I see his partner in the passenger seat sticking his head out of the window looking back at us with a big grin like he's never seen females before. It made me laugh. Once again, these were not men we'd be interested in.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.