sunday, october 29, 2000

11:30 pm

so, another glorious weekend with the new boy has passed.

the boy decided to take me to "moun of tunis" over on sunset blvd in hollywood on friday. neither of us had ever had tunisian & moroccan cuisine, so he thought it'd be a nice experience. and, it was.

we walked into the restaurant as a man all decked out in tunisian costume came to seat us. wow. i felt like we were ina different country. so, we are seated at this round, eleborate wooden, coffee-height table. the seats are lined against the wall and there are cushions and pillows all around. immediately, one cannot resist the temptation to lie down or lean back as if you are at home. the waiter comes by and hands us each a teal-colored terry-cloth towel....the size of a hand towel. we look at each other and grin since afterall, the towel looked as if it were for the bathroom and not for the dinner table. heh.

next, came the menu....only 6 items to choose from, all ranging from $14-$25/person. whoa! pricey! the $14 dish, of course, was the veggie dish. we decided to take the $25/person meal just cuz, well, we wanted a taste of the best. and, what a good choice it was. i am ready to learn how to make some tunisian & morrocan dishes as soon as i find a good cookbook. don't be surprised if you find it on my amazon.com wishlist. if you haven't tried this restaurant and you live in la, you are definitely missing out on one of the best restaurant experiences ever. i highly suggest this place for those who are just dating or need something new to excite their senses. it is definitely worth paying $50 for dinner. during dinner, a belly dancer would run out and do some wiggling for us. she was quite beautiful and i made my boy stick a buck in her waistband just so he'd get embarressed.

before friday evening ends, the boy walks up to me in his dark hallway and i realize he is hiding something behind his back in his right hand. i say, "what're you holding back there?" in my usual cute, curious way. he grins, gives me a kiss and reveals the present in his hand. a book! a book of packaging design. how sweet. he had gone to his favorite used book store and while there, he decided to get me something he thought i'd like. and, a great choice he made. *sigh* geez, this is so nice. it just tells me that he thinks of me.

so, saturday rolls around and the boy makes me french toast. whoa! he can make french toast, too. have i found a boy who can cook or what?! that evening we went to the caaf dream halloween event and brought home with us a bag of goodies. how nice. it was like christmas. we rumaged through our bag like little kids. since it was an event held mostly for kids, we left early and decided to go to 3rd street promenade, where we window shopped as we waited for the 9:30 showing of "best in show." now, that is one hell of a funny movie, dog lover or not. you must all go see. so, window shopping and walking along the promenade was nice. the boy held my hand from store to store. it also allowed me to see his taste in furniture, gadgets, and clothes. so far so good. we ended the night after a drink over at the monsoon cafe.

sunday morning came and this time i made him breakfast after my early meetings with a few freelance clients. breakfast consisted of corned beef hash, hot pototoes, sausages, and eggs. hey, i can cook, too! we spent the afternoon sprawled out in my livingroom, watching caveman movies with raquel welch and "cooking for two" with sara san giocoma. now, that's what i call comfort. later, we decided to go see "the nightmare before christmas" at the old el capitan building. ah, what a magnificent way to spend the day. do you know what i thought was sweet? he wanted us to dress up as a couple for halloween. that being jack and sally from the movie. ain't that sweet. too bad we don't have any parties to attend or that would've been a great "couple" costume. *squeal!* he wanted to dress up as a couple. this boy is definitely heading in the right direction with me. have i found the perfect boy for me?

my thought for the day: it's nice to have a boy tell you he thinks of you quite often and for him to do things that tells you he really means what he says. when he talks to friends, he speaks of me. that i know because i am there when he does so. (ex: rachel this and rachel that...) he says it as if i'm his and that he is proud to have me. i hear it in his voice. this boy i have, he likes to use the phrase, "and the matter of the fact is....." and i completely love it. i'm starting to remember what it's like to have a boyfriend and it's nice.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.