Thursday, Apr. 11, 2002

11:45 p.m.

Do you ever wonder who those people are? Those that are out walking around, jogging, shopping, or just eating out while everyone else is working?

I've always wondered who these people are.....the rich who don't have to work much....the unemployed....mothers with young children....actors/actresses, writers, freelancers.

Well, today I became one of them and Jorge has been one of them since January. We are part of the many who have been laid off or our hours cut.

In a way, it was nice working half-day today, even when I was asked if I could stay longer, afterall. I had the power to say "yes" or "no." And I said, "No, I have already made plans with someone, but how about if you let me come in half day tomorrow?" Then, it turns out they need me the whole day tomorrow. The best thing about freelancing is the ability to leave when you want.

Today, I left work at 1:30 to meet up with Jorge. It was nice to see the sun. We had planned to go hiking at Will Rogers Park again, but Jorge was tired from his mountain biking earlier in the morning. Instead, he asked if I'd like to have lunch.

We ate at California Chicken Cafe where I had the mouth-watering Chinese Wrap.

Afterwards, we went back to my place. I showed him my sketchbooks and bits of my old classwork. He took his time checking them out and asking all sorts of questions. It was nice that he was really interested in my work.

Then, we started making out again.

We ended up chatting about relationships and I asked questions to find out where we stand without directly asking him.

So he says we are "involved" and have proceeded onto the next level of a relationship. He's not seeing anyone else the way he's seeing me because he can't "date" or be in this sort of "relationship" with more than one person at a time and if he were, he'd tell me.

Like me, he thinks being completely open and honest from the very start is an important key factor in a healthy, trustworthy relationship that will work. And like me, he has been hurt in past relationships and take those as a lesson learned.

He asked me what I was looking for in a guy. I said, "Just like you. A partner and a best friend. So far, you fit everything I'm looking for and I hope that doesn't scare you off." He says, "No, it doesn't scare me." *Kiss, kiss*

The truth is, he really is everything I'm looking for in a partner. How is it possible that I've found someone who's interested and who is exactly what I'm looking for?

Jorge said something to me today about past relationships that really made me think about things. He said, "The key is to not let yourself be a victim." I think he's right.

Oh yes....talked with the boss today and even showed up a few minutes early. Our meeting didn't last more than 3 minutes. He's going to work something out so that I'm taken care of and not just thrown out on the street without work, but he's gotta check the budgets before finding out what sort of severance package he can give me. I'm glad he understands that I am worried about not knowing how long it will take to find work or a new job and I'm glad I had the courage to go up to him and ask for what I deserve and mention that I've been dedicated to the company and still want to maintain a good work relationship. He agreed there was no doubt I was/am a good, dedicated employee.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.