Tuesday, July 17, 2001

11:03 p.m.

Ignorance. It's all around us. And, I'm guilty of it.

Our receptionist (I'll call her Dee), who also happens to be a good friend of mine has her desk right by the bathroom. The bathroom is literally two feet behind where she sits. So, naturally without thinking, every time I need to go to the bathroom and someone else is in there, I or someone else will ask her one or more of the following questions:

1. Dee, who's in the bathroom?

2. Dee, do you know who went last?

3. Dee, does it smell in there?

4. Dee, do you know who took the matches?

The thing is, we never think about being in her position, being the one who has to answer questions like these until that person brings it up. So, today, Dee got fed up. She didn't throw a fit or anything. Let me just say that she has one of the best attitudes of anyone I know. And, she's funny at the same time so she sorta addressed it in a joking way, which didn't offend anyone, yet made a real impact on all of us.

So, Dee comes out and tells me the answers to the above questions.

1. I don't know. I don't turn around to see who goes in there every time I hear someone walk up to the bathroom.

2. I don't know. It's not like I keep track of who went last.

3. No. Do you really think I go in there to sniff out the bathroom everytime some uses it?

4. How the heck should I know who took the matches?

Now I know better and I'm so glad that Dee finally brought this to my attention because I had no idea how irritating it could be to be asked such ignorant questions just because you have to sit right by the bathroom. What's even worse is, Dee was told she smelled like Lysol at one point and it wasn't during work hours.

Today, she saw one of our freelancers go in there right after lunch. He's this really big guy. I mean, big in girth and he always orders enough food for 4 people, but eats it all himself. I'm going to call him Mr. Belly. Well, Mr. Belly walked in the bathroom and the first thing Dee hears is this huge splattering fart. She said it was so loud she felt her chair vibrate.

Sometimes, it's rough being a receptionist, so please be nice and pay more respect to your receptionists.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.