Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005

12:26 a.m.

compassion. i am a very compassionate person. the older i get the more compassionate i realize i am. it's kind of ironic that someone i know mentioned how old people are not as compassionate, almost as if he were implying that the older you become, the more bitter and selfish one becomes. it's hard for me to understand being old and bitter.

i feel like the older i become, the more insight i have of the world, of people, of my surroundings, of different cultures. and all this makes me a more well-rounded person. the more i age, the more i want to make a difference in the lives of those who are less fortunate than i am. i want to be a lending ear, a body to hug, a friend to a stranger with more problems than he/she can handle, a crying partner, a mother to all.

i want to be the person that tells a crying child or adult, "hakuna matata" and then sit them down with a bowl of water mixed with elmer's glue, a pile of newspapers, a balloon and some paint so that we can make paper mach� together, creating beautiful art.

i'm a crafty person. i've always been a crafty person ever since i can remember. i didn't draw but i would make 3 dimensional things or experiment with scientific toys like sea monkey kits, crystal rocks and magic potions. as a child, you'd find me in the "magic" aisle of toys r us or in the "baking" aisle or in the "art" aisle or in the "science" aisle. i wasn't so much into dolls or stuffed animals. i was more intrigued by things that would turn into other things. my favorite book in the whole world when i was growing up was the "make & do" book that was part of a series of books that my dad had bought. i forgot the name of the series but there were like 26 of them and each came color-coded.

i remember making paper mach� and sneaking my mom's potatoes from the frig so i could carve out flower shapes and dip them in paint to make my own stamping tool.

i think if i were a parent and found my child constantly making stuff out of stuff, i'd know they're more the artsy type. i think about how i was and what i've become and it makes sense. i'm a creative person but i never really knew that until i was about 24. i wish i knew earlier.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.