Wednesday, December 13, 2000

10:46 pm

do you remember your high school days?

do you remember the faces of people who were in your graduating class, the ones who walked the same halls as you or had the same classes? perhaps the ones who you never spoke to but somehow still remember their names or their faces?

well, i do, sorta....but it's all one big, fat blur. it's been about a decade since i graduated from the class of 1991 at redlands high school, home of the terriers. our school mascot/logo of a terrier looked more like a bulldog than a terrier. in fact, i believe it is a bulldog and not a terrier. i wonder how that happened?

so, the reason i'm writing about high school is because i came home today to find two emails from www.highschoolalumni.com saying that people had written me. whoa! yeah, so i logged onto the site and it was nice to hear from old classmates who i've lost contact with for all these years.

old memories came back. old faces came back. old names came back. i went through the list of my graduating class who had signed up onto the site. as i scrolled through the names, i thought to myself, "oh, yeah, i remember him/her. i wonder if he/she is married." and, oh my. at least half of them are married and have one child. many have become teachers and are still living in redlands, not having ventured far from the town they grew up in. others have ventured as far as pennyslvania,washington d.c., or iowa.

it's interesting to know what these people are doing nowadays, ten years after graduating high school. the ones you never thought to have become a mommy or daddy are now the ones with kids. i just never imagined any of these kids the way they live life now. i wonder what they think as they scroll through my profile and read my whereabouts or what i'm doing now. i wonder if they remember me as i remember them.

our 10 yr reunion is in August. i don't think i'll attend. i'm not sure. most of my friends had been in the class after mine year, although it'd be interesting just to go and see what everyone else looks like now. have they grown fat and wrinkly? have the wallflowers become rose blossoms? do they have the same personality as in high school? who's married to who?

but, it's only december and christmas is around the corner and so is new year's. i've still got plenty of time to decide. so, for now, i'm just concentrating on my sweetheart. he's so cute and sweet. and the more time i spend with him and the more i get to know him, the more i adore him. the other day, he couldn't wait and asked if i'd like my first two christmas presents. i smiled with a smirk and told him, "no. i'd like to guess what it might be first," only because i could see that sparkle in his eyes....the sparkle of excitement. i could tell he could hardly wait to present me with those gifts. i found that so warm, inviting, soothing, and sweet. i am the same way. i wanted to torture him and make him wait as i guessed what the gifts could be. we played the guessing game. he gave me hints as i made guesses. and, boy, it turned out to be pure amusement for him and i. he was glad i made him wait and for me to guess because that, for me, is the exciting part.

what did he get me? a leopard patterned lens case holder and matching lipstick holder from fossil. they are absolutely adorable. now, i normally don't carry my lipsticks in a case nor do i carry my contact lenses case around in a case holder, but i could use the cases for other stuff, such as jewelry. they are just nice to have, especially from him.

we had ventured into a fossil store at universal studios a few weeks ago and he remembered me looking at them and saying how cute they were. they even match my fossil bag/purse. he had noticed that first and became even more excited to find out the gifts matched my purse. heh. the upper inside trimming of my purse has a leopard pattern.

so, i bought him a present today, which i'll present to him tomorrow evening. i can hardly wait! he says he's got another one waiting for me, which he bought today. oh, goodie. and, there's three more waiting when i get to new york. hmmmm. this is kinda nice. tomorrow, i'm going to the bookstore to get him this one book i think he's going to really enjoy. can't hardly wait. i wonder if anyone else is having as much fun as i am.

alright, i haven't linked anyone or any sites for awhile, so here goes:

1) if you go read esol you might catch a secret little dialogue going on in there. i think it's awfully sweet and clever.

2) get in touch with high school classmates and find out what they are doing at www.highschoolalumni.com.

3) you know, my birthday is coming up, so check out my wishlist. it's on the side panel to the left. it's also a good time for you to sign up since christmas is around the corner and wouldn't you like for people to buy you things you really would like? click on my wishlist and it'll take you there so you can sign up for your own wishlist.

4) no one has signed my guestbook for awhile. :( i'd be happy to get that from anyone. it'd brighten my day even more so. :) click on the left to sign my guestbook. pul-lease????!!!!!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.