Tuesday, Mar. 23, 2004

7:36 p.m.

Today's Ham Special

While I thought I had brought home a package of sliced deli ham at the local joe's, it turned out that in fact I had brought home two for the price of one without anyone knowing so, not even the store, itself. Somehow they were stuck together. Now that's what I call getting lucky with the ham.

Addictingly Potent Poet

I am fascinated by the late S. Plath's literary prose and life. Reading her words is uncannily familiar in an unfamiliar way if you know what I mean. In other words, I find myself relating to what she was feeling or thinking, yet without the words that she was so good at beating together in such a powerful and poignant way.

Music's Acoming & Making Me Poor

We're going to Coachella for the first weekend in May and we're staying at my folk's unoccupied home....the one I grew up in. My parents tried selling it but due to the economic situation no one wanted to buy it so they've just kinda kept it around. Lucky us. Yet not so lucky us since it's still an hour's drive away from the venue. All the hotels, motels, and inns have been booked. It'll be my first and I'm quite excited to see what the fuss is about.

I scored us a pair of Madonna tickets during the Icon Member presale today. They sold out within minutes and I'm now $212.00 poorer than last night. Good thing I wasn't tempted to get the $150 or $300 tickets. Can you imagine spending $600 on a pair of tickets for a concert? My god. That sounds so damn crazy. All I have to say is that it better be worth my $90 tickets.

Wait a sec....what with the Coachella and Madonna tickets...I've already spent $352. Yikes. Update: I will be getting the Coachella tickets paid for in exchange for some graphic design services. Oso and his drummer want to start paying me for all the graphic design stuff I do for their band. I feel odd charging them and so actually don't want to. I feel good being able to do that sort of thing for my Oso, but he says it's unfair to me if they continue to take advantage of my design skills....afterall it is what I do for a living. He's right about that. BUT still....I'm happy and honored I get to work on the website, cd, flyers, etc. for the band. For now, I just told them to pay me with the Coachella tickets. Oso's response was, "But that's not enough for the type of work you're doing for us." I said, "I know." And he goes, "Well, figure out some numbers." So I said, "Well, how much would your company pay for the stuff I'm doing for you guys?" And he says, "It'd be ALOT, like 60 grand." And I said, "Ok, well then I'll charge you guys half of that." knowing full well that they wouldn't have that sort of money. And Oso, laughs and then I laugh knowing that I was joking around. BUT, can you imagaine?

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.