Monday, Jun. 24, 2002

12:34 p.m.

My first day of work at my new job was all about familiarizing with the workplace, the new co-workers, and the printer equipment. There's still lots to be shown. Overall, it went fine, but I am exhausted.

Over lunch break, I became a bit sad and almost wanted to cry mainly because the computer I'll be using is just an old 9600 that's been upgraded to a G3 with an external hardrive that's got 3 drives. It's got the memory I need and all the updated graphics applications, but it's not a G4! My monitor is an old 17" Apple that doesn't even work that great, even one of the guys said they'll have to get me another one. Joe employer said they'll eventually get me a G4, but when?! I do not like this.....this having gotten used to having a G4 and brand new 21" flat screen at the old job in a pretty nice work station. Now, I have an ugly brown table with beige metal drawers in the corner of what seems to be a small conference room. There is no privacy. There are 3 rooms off of that room, belonging to 3 older gentlemen in sales, all of whom have beards except for one. They're all rather nice, though. I wish I had asked about the computer and workstation and everything else before I accepted the job offer. Why didn't I? I forgot. Stupid me.

There are 2 production artists who have all been there at least 8 years and they have G4s! Seniority based on length of employment takes place here, as well, I suppose? But....I am a project manager/designer! I should have better equipment right away!!! Grrrrrr.

Well, at least Joe employer gave me the salary I asked for. I have a health plan, but not 401k or profit sharing. This puzzles me.....what do I do with the profit sharing I had from the old job? I was told I could cash it out or roll it over to the next place of employment, but this place doesn't even have either one. Would anyone care to tell me what needs to be done? Please?

And lunch....lunch is ONLY 30 minutes! I have two 10-minute breaks. They said I can take longer if I'm not too busy and take off early if I finish what I need to do, which is cool. My hours will be 9-5:30, although I think they said they're flexible with that as long as I get my work done. For now, I should just stick by the book at least for the first month and see how it goes.

I'm responsible for coming up with a new logo identity for the company and a design for these presskits we'll be sending out. There are no graphic design reference books so I must bring my own. God...they have nothing that I need as I'm the first designer they've ever hired. I guess I need to set the standard for them and ask for what I need...like sketch pads and markers for thumbnails.

--------------------------------------------------

After work, I stopped by the old workplace where my friend was waiting for me. I went to pick up the rest of my stuff, burn some files off the servers, and turn in my keys. Then, my friend and I came back to my place so she could do laundry since the one at her place broke down. While waiting for the clothes to dry in the dryer, we went for a late dinner and then stopped by my brother's to pick up a scanner he decided to give me. I am exhausted!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.