Tuesday, Jun. 04, 2002

12:45 p.m.

While sitting in the EDD workshop today, we had to do an exercise in which we had to tell everyone exactly what we did in our last work position. It's just to help us practice how we'd tell a future employer what we did in our previous job.

There were about 13 of us, 5 of whom were actors. Those were kinda funny since I think it's pretty clear what an actor does and they need not describe what they do.

"Actor. I memorized lines from so and so scripts. I audtioned for so and so. I practiced my lines."

Then, there was the red-headed man across from me. His job description really made me sad....and I think if I had been in his position, it would have been humiliating to have to describe his job duty.

"Janitor. I was responsible for cleaning, mopping, and sanitizing the floors. I emptied out the trash cans in the building and then put them in the huge dumpster outside. I made sure the toilets in the public bathrooms were sanitized and cleaned out every night."

Then, there was me.

"Graphic designer/Production Manager. I worked in a creative team environment where I was involved in conceptual branding, positioning, and product development. As a designer and production manager, I was responsible for designing the look of product concepts that the company created. I handled and managed production art projects, quoted and estimated job costs, worked directly with clients, set production ready artwork, attended presschecks and photo shoots, art directed small projects, photographed and digitally manipulated images, managed the the in-house portfolio, made sure printer supplies were in stock, and lead focus group teams in coming up with new product ideas.

I think I blew everyone in the room away. They all looked and sounded impressed as I was pretty much the youngest person in the room.

Tomorrow, I have one more workshop to attend. It's just for half an hour and located at the One-Stop in Marina Del Rey.

--------------------------------------------------

Being unemployed is making me depressed. I find myself sleeping a lot and it's not like I don't have anything to do. In fact, I have a lot to do, but I keep putting it behind.

Staying at home most of the day and not socializing or interacting with people is driving me nuts. I feel like a loser.

I have gone through the stages of shock, denial, relief, and anger. Currently, I am in the despression stage. I'm hoping to turn that into the "acceptance" stage.

--------------------------------------------------

Today, my mom called and I updated her on what I've been doing. I explained to her that the company that laid me off is paying for my unemployment benefits and that for every check I receive from EDD, the company's tax increases by 10%. That seems to be quite a lot. My mom's response was, "Well, that's what they get for firing you." And I said, "Mom! I didn't get fired. Please don't say that. I got laid off. There is a difference in being laid off and being fired. I did nothing wrong and lost my job due to lack of business. I hope you are not telling people I got fired." And she said, "I haven't told anyone you lost your job, in fact, I'm don't want to." This made me feel like she was ashamed that I lost my job and it made me very sad. I think I went and took a long nap after that.

--------------------------------------------------

Later in the afternoon, my friend, E-boy called me up and invited me to dinner, which cheered me up. About 30 minutes later, L-boy called and wanted to take me out to dinner. Heh. See what I mean? The boys all want to take me out to dinner.

I ended up going with E-boy to Broadway Deli at 3rd street promenade. We had a nice conversation over a good meal. It's nice to have a platonic guy friend who you can have a pleasant conversation with about many different topics and he still wants to pay for your dinner. I really should have more guy friends like this. Oh, and E-boy thinks I would make a great pathologist.

--------------------------------------------------

While doing my laundry tonight, Puma ran out the door of my unit. I chased after him and caught him rather quickly. He gets scared when he wanders out of his normal quarters. He lowers his belly to the ground, crawling slowly like a GI in action so it wasn't too hard to catch him. I decided to put him on a lease and let him out for a bit. He wouldn't walk and kept going back to our front door. Puma so cute! Right now he's stretched out, sleeping on the freshly laundered bathrug in my bathroom. My friend, Y-girl who came over yesterday said Puma is like a dog. He's quite friendly and likes to be held, unlike most cats. I love my Puma! Puma a good cat. :)

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.