Monday, Aug. 04, 2003

12:06 p.m.

Crackle, Crackle, Crackle, Thump!

That's what I heard tonight as I was watching an episode of Extreme Dating after the late night news.

It was loud, but not so loud. Just audible enough for someone nearby to think it odd. At first I thought it was my neighbors setting off a bunch of fireworks, but when I looked outside my patio door, I didn't see any lovely sparks.

Then I wondered if perhaps my cat knocked something over, like the screen door since I saw him scrambling off towards my bedroom.

When my eyes adjusted to the night light, I noticed leaves. Tons of leaves covering part of my building's main driveway. My eyes followed the trail of the leaves and it turned out that the HUGE old tree in our neighbor's front yard had fallen over, blocking their driveway. Luckily, it didn't hit anyone's cars since normally quite a number of the building's tenants park in that driveway. Tonight, I only saw two.

My god. That's kinda scary. Luckily no one was hurt. It was a pretty big tree. I've seen people sitting right under it during the day and I've seen the neighbor's kids playing right where the tree fell over.

Pumpkin Guy

I ran into the Pumpkin Guy I met online a few years ago at my local grocery store down the street tonight. It's the second time this year I've ran into him as he lives in the neighborhood. He was buying a pack of donuts, a liter of soda, and a can of Wolfgang Puck soup for dinner. The soup he was going to share with his two cats. I feel kinda bad for Pumpkin Guy. I don't know why. Maybe it was because I kinda feel guilty I dissed him or perhaps he just seems to have this sad aura about him. I hope he has a nice girl now though I doubt it since he was talking about his psycho ex-girlfriend who wants him to take his cat to a psychic to cure the cat's habit of peeing on his blanket. Weird. Nice guy, but a bit annoying after a few minutes of chatting with him.

Job Hunt

So I got my first employer interest today via email. They are local and not too far from home. They're interested in seeing my portfolio and would like me to drop it off if possible. This worries me. First, I'm not too trusting of leaving my only portfolio in the hands of people I don't even know. I'd rather be there showing it. Second, what if they accidently damage my pieces or forget to put something back in there? Three, what if they just want to steal ideas? Man, I wish I were a bit more trusting. Anyway, via their web site, they seem to be pretty cool. I like their work, so we'll see. Tonight, I'm going to start thinking of putting together a second portfolio to drop off. The good news is that they are only the 3rd company I've sent my resume to since last week. Also, I don't really want to start working right away. I want to relax for another week or two. It's so nice to stay home and watch tv all day. I have my tv schedule all set and I'm back to watching Days of Our Lives and Passions. I'm such a daytime soap opera and reality tv junkie. Oh yes...and HBO, FX, and FoodTV junkie, as well.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.