Friday, Jul. 12, 2002

1:02 p.m.

Here's a clarification for the previous entry's statement of what I meant by "for a measly $15/hr."

"for a measly $15/hr" = compared to what i normally get, not compared to what others make

In that respect, I'm just trying to say that $15 for me is too cheap compared to what they used to pay me especially since I had worked for them on a salary basis for almost 3 years as a dedicated and hardworking employee. It is demeaning to be offered such a rate when I used to get alot more. I didn't go to a university for 8 years to get paid that amount especially in the field that I am in.

That company tries to get away with as much as possible when you're not one of them so that is why I am so pissed. They know I'm a super nice person and they think they can get their way with me, but I've had enough. In fact, they called me twice today offering my usual rate, so I accepted. Don't ever settle for less than you deserve unless you really need it. I wish I could follow that advice more often because in reality, I do sometimes end up settling for less than I deserve.

Ask any working professional graphic designer with a BA or BFA degree who's had proper training if they think $15 is cheap. I can guarantee you that their answer will be something along the lines of "dirt cheap." (dirt cheap for what we do as graphic designers) Everyone is always telling me I charge too cheap. According to the Graphic Artist's Guild, someone with:

<3 yrs experience = $35

3-5 yrs = $35-$45

5-7 yrs = $45-$55

>7 yrs = $55-$75, etc.

Something like that.

I hope this clarifies things up for anyone who might think I was putting others down for making $15/hr or less. I wasn't.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.