Wednesday, Jun. 23, 2004

3:02 a.m.

One of the most used items in my home is the microwave. It broke last week and since then I've been eating out or bringing food back home. I can't imagine a home without a microwave. It's such an inconvenience not having this particular kitchen appliance. I can't quickly reheat leftovers and so I end up eating out which costs more money. Nor can I heat up the packs of frozen microwavable meals. There's the option of heating them in the conventional oven, but I don't have the patience to wait 45 minutes for a meal.

This makes me think back to age 10, which is like 21 years ago. Did we have microwaves back then? I can't recall. I remember my mom purchasing "tv dinners" that came in an aluminum tray to be popped into a traditional oven. I think Swanson's was one of the main brands that used this technique. I kinda miss those. For some reason, it was sort of neat in a nostalgic way. Nowadays, we just get the typical plastic, black tray covered by a see-thru film.

Speaking of nostalgia....the topic of diapers came up tonight while I was talking to Oso. I can't recall how that came up but I do remember telling him that disposable diapers weren't around when we were babies. I was born in '72 and he was born in '70. In actuality, I can't say for sure if they exsisted or not during those years. I just remember my mom telling me that when I was born she didn't have the convenience of disposable diapers. She had to literally handwash cloth diapers. Can you imagine washing baby poop from cloth? Yuck! I'll have to look up the history of disposable diapers.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.