Monday, August 13, 2001

9:10 p.m.

For some strange reason, I always get tongue-tied whenever my boss recognizes and commends me of my hard work. I freeze up, stutter, and the wrong words come flying out. I end up feeling incompetent, despite the fact I was just given props on a job well done. It's a weird thing, I tell you. Today was a good example.

So, a few coworkers and I stayed an hour late to finish this thing for a huge presentation my boss is attending tomorrow. As usual, we were given late notice of the important event and all day we rushed to meet the deadline. I was one of the last to leave the building and as I flew past him in the hallway, he utters to me in a deep, appreciative tone, "Thank you. Thank you for working hard and getting this done."

He had totally caught me off-guard in my mad rush to leave the building. I stopped dead in my tracks with a dumbfounded, puzzled expression and croaked out, "Huh? Oh, uh, thank-you....um, I mean, you're welcome." At that moment, I felt like an idiot.

It's always a surprise when the big man or woman of the company gives you props. It's a rarity that I appreciate. It's nice and it makes me realize that even though I think my boss doesn't recognize my importance, it's times like these that I understand he does. And that, that made my day and my work and all the complaining & whining I made, worthwhile.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.