2000-May-14

11:24:33 am

Do not go see Battlefield Earth. I saw it opening night at the persuasion of a few friends/coworkers. No, I take that back. It was one friend/coworker who persuaded a few of us to go see it with him despite the fact that we all heard bad reviews about the movie. The only good thing about it was the cute 'man animal' leader. Oh, he was definitely cute and sexy. Those jawlines.....anyway the best part of the movie...well, it really wasn't part of the movie, but the best thing that happened during the movie was right before the previews. We had already been sitting. A party of three people decided to go and sit two rows in front of us. The woman sits down first, then her date, and finally the fat man. But, the funny thing is that when the fat man sat down, he was so big that his shoulders and arms took up about a quarter of space on either side of him, thus what we saw from behind was three people squished really tightly together, with the 3rd man looking as if he was twice the size of a regular guy. We saw the average man in the middle wiggling around as if he was trying to loosen up the tightness. He then gets up and sits on the other side of the woman, leaving an empty seat between the woman and the fat man. It was such a funny sight. I mean, you just had to be there to experience how funny it was. We were all still laughing about that incident half an hour after the movie started.

Ah, finally, I get to be bymyself again. I have been a good little hostess for my cousins from the east coast since Saturday morning. And, it's not like I don't want to be around them or anything, but I just haven't been able to get any work done. Their plane was supposed to arrive at 8pm Friday night. Then, it got delayed to 9:45pm, then, 11:54pm, and finally they were able to catch a plane that would arrive here in CA at 8:08am!

My sister and I arrive at LAX to pick them up and wow, they are so grown up now. I haven't seen them for something like 8 yrs. One is 23 like my sister and the other is 21.

So, we decide to go to Jerry's Deli in Westwood for breakfast. If I must say so, it's probably not the best place to take New Yorkers for a meal. I mean, afterall, Jerry's Deli is supposed to imitate a NY deli and they are here to get a taste of CA cuisine. But, it was the only place open that we knew of at the time. Applepan's was closed.

After breakfast, we went to my sisters to chill for a bit and then I dropped them off at the Beverly Center so I could get some work done. No, I did not get any work done. I was so exhausted I decided to take a 5 minute nap that turned into a 2 hr nap. By then, it was time to pick them up and then drive over to Rowland Heights to meet up with other relatives for dinner. That dinner ended up being something like 4 hrs long, which further delayed my being able to work on something that is due tomorrow. Shit, shit, shit.

My brother brought his new girlfriend (Debbie) along. Yes, she is cute, pretty, prim, and proper. Oh, but quite exotic-looking. A bit different from the previous girlfriend (Jolie) who was pretty cute, but really petite. I think my mom likes Jolie better. It seems my brother is the only one so far who's not afraid to bring a girlfriend home.

So, my aunt asks me if I have a boyfriend. It never falls.

I just found out I'm going to be a bridesmaid for my cousin. I was not 'asked' to be one. It was 'told' I was going to be one like I'm obligated to be one. I don't mind, really, but now, not only am I going to be a bridesmaid this September for a friend, but also next January for my cousin. Should I be getting worried and trying to avoid a third time? I mean you know how the old saying goes, "Three times a bridesmaid, always a bridesmaid." Did I say that right? Maybe there's different version, but correct me if I'm wrong.

So, it's already 10pm by the time I get home. I came home alone and left my brother to take my cousins and my sister out for a night on the town. What did I do when I get home? I fall asleep rather than working on my stuff. An hour later, they call me up and ask if I was sure I did not want to go to a K club with them. I tell them I was too tired. It wasn't just that, but I am just not into the club scene anymore. Just a year ago, I was still into the club scene, but now it's like, I just have no interest whatsoever. I find myself wanting to spend some time alone and not really wanting to socialize at times. I also find myself wanting, craving for my own place where I can walk around naked if I wanted to. I want to have a back porch facing a sandy beach and being able lie out there on a hammock in the warmth of the sun, drenching in the rays, sipping on a nice cold tropical drink, and reading a good book. I find myself wondering into stores like Crate & Barrel and The Pottery Barn looking at kitchenware, dinnerware.....I must be getting old or something. I want a cat, a dog, and a bird....maybe even a bunny. Of course, I'd probably end up killing them like I did my fish and my hermit crab or allow them to kill each other like my dwarf hamster....those evil dwarf hamsters.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.