Monday, Oct. 27, 2003

11:10 p.m.

Bag Hunt

So I dragged Oso all over town on Sunday, looking for that perfect laptop bag. Ok, ok...I didn't exactly drag him all over town. I actually asked him if he'd run some errands with me and he replied with a beautiful "Sure." And, it wasn't exactly all over town. More like 3 different places all within 5 minutes drive of each other.

First we hit this cool, little shop on 3rd Street that carried some of the Casuari bags. I wasn't smitten with what I found. The colors were not to my liking. The material was not to my liking. And, the shape looked too much like a cutesy, little suitcase perfect for a little girl. However, I did like the interior, but it wasn't enough for me to spend $80 on.

Our next stop was Fred Segal's on Melrose. I heard they carried some of the colorful Acme bags I was interested in purchasing. When we got there, I was quite dissapointed. First of all, they hiked up the price quite a bit. Second of all, they looked a bit too chintzy (is that how you spell it?). So off we went...though I wanted to stay and check out all the cute outfits they had there that only celebs and the fabulously well-to-do folks could afford.

The third and final stop was back at point A, the Apple store at The Grove. I liked the black Acme bag, but Oso thought it would be better to have only if I were going to a meeting where I were to present something on my laptop. I also took a look at the Timbuk2 bag they had there and liked it, except for the choice of color they had. So, I ended up buying the Incase nylon slimcase. It was cheaper and it looked decent. Well, when we got back to his place, I found out that the Incase sleeve was quite snug and my laptop barely fit. It was hard to slip in and take out, which upset me. Also, I could barely stuff my adapter and mouse in the outer compartment. There was absolutely no room for anything else. So, I'm going to return the bag and continue on looking.

I have decided that I want a bag that carries the laptop, along with other work items I may need, like schedule book, paperpad, camera, flashcard reader, mouse pad, etc.

So, I think I'm going to get a Timbuk2. The only problem now is that they don't seem to have the colors I want in the Commute style. At first I thought I could get a custom one made, but it's only in certain product styles and not the one I want. Grrrr!!!! I'm going to call them tomorrow and find out if they might make an exception without hiking up the price too much. And even if they can...I haven't decided exactly which colors I want....Mint/Stone/Mint, Orange/Silver/Orange, Green Tea/Silver/Green Tea? My brother thinks they're all ugly and too flashy for carrying a laptop in and that I'd be a target for robbery if I had one of those brightly colored bags. I disagree. I think it's more obvious when a person gets a typical black laptop bag. The Timbuk2s look more like messenger bags than laptop bags. Why's it so hard to find a bag I want?

Chewy Noodles

So Oso and I had Korean food in Korea town last night. We've never had it together before so it was a good call. I ordered some sort of thin, cold buckwheat noodle. It was good, but my god it was chewy. I mean chewy to the point where I couldn't chew it! No wonder the waitress asked me if I'd like for her to cut it with these scissors she had in her hand. I couldn't even bite the suckers. When it came for Oso to try it, the same thing happened to him...he could bite through them and it was just hanging from his lips. I couldn't help laughing just because I had just experienced it. The chewy noodles were good, but I'd have to say they could be a choking hazard. I couldn't finish my noodles since normally when you go for Korean food, they serve you all these little "snacks" or appetizers beforehand. I got full just from snacking. So, when it came time to pay the bill, I asked to take the chewy noodles home. The waitress, like at most typical family-owned Asian places asked why I didn't finish it. I said I was really full, but I liked it, so I'd like to take it home. I didn't want to offend them by not taking it to go.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.