Monday, Apr. 15, 2002

6:41 p.m.

How is it that sometimes people you hardly know can completely cheer you up after you've had a long, crappy day?

--------------------------------------------------

So, work sucked. I just didn't want to even be there working on the company portfolio knowing that I'm no longer really a part of that company anymore, even if I'm a freelancer.

Every 2 minutes I'd look up at the clock, hoping it was almost time to leave for my Monday afternoon class.

Tomorrow, I will be going in again half day. I told the studio manager I can't tolerate being there for a full day putting together the company's portfolio. In a way, it's kind of degrading....here I am practically laid off and I'm there working on the damn portfolio! It's pretty much what's keeping that dough rolling in as much as I hate it. I just need to hurry and find a new job. Yet, I think what I really need is a whole month off from any sort of work....just to relax.

--------------------------------------------------

So anyway...I went off track. After class, I went to Trader Joe's where the local cutie works. Yeah, the one who always flirts with me.

I get in line #3 after scoping out if he was around. Nope. So I'm there standing around waiting in line looking at all those mint tins, chocolates, and Jelly Belly's when I looked up and there is was all of a sudden....my checker. He must have noticed I was around and then switched with the guy that was there when I got in line.

My turn came and he says his usual, "Hi. How are you?" with that more than interested smile and look. I smiled back in a sad way and said, "Oh, ok. How are you?" He says, "I"m doing good. Why just ok?" So then I blurt out, "Oh, I've just been laid off." At that point the bag boy and his other coworker was messing around right by him and they all go, "Oooh...." Cute checker says, "I'm sorry to hear that...hey, you could always work here with us." Then, his other coworker grabs a roll of Trader Joe stickers for kids and rips me off a couple of them to cheer me up." So I get my grocery bags to go and then cute checker switches places with the other coworker, like he just got off. He says a sweet, "You'll still be coming around, right?" I said, "Yeah." and laughed. So basically, he just switched places to check out the two people in front of me and myself, so he could chat me up. Heh. That just made my day. If I wasn't dating Jorge, I'd probably work my way up to just handing over my phone number.

--------------------------------------------------

Oh! I forgot to mention that I actually stopped by the local Vons first to since I wanted a BRC burrito from El Pollo Loco, which is right next door. Then, I figured, I might as well get some cans of cream of mushroom.

So while slightly bent over looking at some cans of french cut green beans, some long-haired asshole came by and lightly tapped my ass! Can you believe that? Why is it that I always get these weirdos who hit on me at the grocery stores? It's not like I'm wearing anything provacative. I was in such disbelief that I didn't even say anything, not even sure if it really happened.

This brings back memories when I was 13 yrs old, shopping at Lucky's with my mom. I was pushing a shopping a cart when this nasty man with a mustashe came by and smacked me real hard on the ass. I yelped, turned around and he goes, "Oh, I'm sorry, I thought you were my wife." She turned out to be this short, heavy-set woman who resembled nothing like little, scrawny, 13-yr-old me.

Then there was the time when I was at Disneyland with the ex, Rafael. It was cast member day, which Disneyland closes down Dland for the evening as a special thank you for it's employees. Well, I was walking by one of the stores in Futureland or whatever when some man walked by and smacked my ass just like the other guy in the grocery store. Once again, I yelped and Rafael goes, "What? What's wrong?!" I say, "That guy just smacked me on the ass!!!" That's when Rafael started to go after him, but lost track of the asshole in the crowd.

I can't believe the nerve of some guys. And why is it always me who gets smacked on the ass by complete strangers?

--------------------------------------------------

As for Jorge, he and I went to see The Sweetest Thing last night. It was truly a great date flick and a rather enjoyable one for the both of us. Cameron Diaz and Christina Applegate were spectacular! Ooooh, such a funny, funny, funny movie. Everyone should go see it. You know how there are so many movies with out there that give you the guy's perspective of things, well, this one is a good girl perspective movie.

Afterwards, I had a craving for McDonald's soft serve vanilla cone so we went to get me one. Then, we went back to my place to hang out for a bit before he had to drive down to Torrance and pick up his amphead. Is that how you spell it? We played a little PS2 and during that time, I put my arms around him while finishing up my ice cream. He turned his head to kiss me and then he says, "Wow, your tongue is cold." I said, "Well, you can warm it up for me." Hahahahaa. He started playing with Puma after we got sick of playing Crash Bandicoot and ended up paying more attention to him than me! I was actually getting jealous over my cat. Jorge left and I was sad to see him leave as I just wanted to cuddle with him all night long. He told me he'd call me today and the whole day I fretted that he'd forget, but he didn't. Phew! I have become extremely paranoid over my past experience. It's horrible. I mean, Jorge had told me to call him just before I get off work yesterday so we could get together. So I did and it turned out that I had to leave a message. During the 20 minutes or so I was waiting for him to return the call, I completely freaked out. I started thinking that maybe he was going to flake on me afterall. My heart was racing and I was panic-stricken. And it's not like he's ever flaked out on me before. In fact, he's been pretty good about things and even told me he wouldn't be flakey with me. I wish I could just relax for once. Anyway, it turned out that he had been in the shower when I called. Silly me.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.