Friday, Oct. 22, 2004

5:22 p.m.

i finally had my big move last saturday on the 16th. friday night, we went to pickup the uhaul. i was too scared to drive that 14' truck once i got into the driver's seat so i called oso to confirm that he'll have to come drive it.

we had an early start at 7am the next morning and luckily two friends came over to help. i had been expecting just one guy friend of ours to come help out and his gfriend, who is also one of my closest friends came along, as well. it was a nice little surprise as i hadn't asked any of my female friends to help me move. we let the guys handle the big, bulky and heavy items as we girls bundled up packages with this saran wrap-like material. i forget what it's called. that stuff is really great for keeping things from falling apart during a move or protecting the corners of furniture.

we ended up needing to make two rounds with the uhaul since we couldn't fit all of my stuff in the truck in one trip.

once we got to the new place there were all these guys ready to help us unload and move my stuff up to my new place. it was really nice of the housing company to provide this for us. most of the guys didn't speak English and didn't even bother to use the dollies we had. i was so scared they'd hurt their backs from carrying some of my heavy creates or boxes of books. i guess since our building is completely new and they were late a week in letting us move in they decided they'd give us some complimentary movers to help us move in. plus, a lot of people were moving in, too so it really speeded up the process.

i haven't really had access to the internet from home since i turned in my keys at my old place on Tuesday night. our internet is still not connected here at the new place but last night i discovered i had access to the internet via a neighbor's connection. my airport card on my laptop picked up the connection. it was so nice to finally get online and check email. i haven't really checked personal email at work since i've been so swamped with getting stuff done for the upcoming holidays. everyone's been working a bit later than usual. it's been really hectic for me what with the move and work being really busy. we just have a lot of stuff to send out to the printers.

today, i worked off-site at one of our stores, which is actually closer to home. the art director and i had a photo shoot to take care of. it was a nice change of pace being away from the office scene.

anyway, our new place is really nice. my brother hasn't fully moved in yet but he's been slowly moving stuff over. the place is huge and so it gets pretty chilly in the evenings and mornings. luckily, i still have my little room heater from before to use instead of turning on central heating. that can get pretty costly. i did try it out the other day just to make sure it was working.

we're so close to a couple of yummy restaurants. oso and i ate at killer shrimp a few days ago. it's only like 5 minutes from here. also, rut's, this hawaiian place is close by, as well. oooh...and i can't forget soup plantation and the cheesecake factory. i'm also only about 5 minutes from the playa del rey beach. i'm going to have to take advantage of rollerblading or biking there more often.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.