Thursday, Feb. 14, 2002

11:44 p.m.

Dear Diary,

V-day, as in Valentine's day is like D-day for me.

I remember back in high school, they had these "rose-in-a-balloon" sort of deal you could buy for someone and it'll get sent to one of your classes. All the popular girls used to get them. Sometimes, one girl would get more than one. Every year, I'd hope someone with a secret crush on me would surprise me with one. I never got one.

It's now 2002 and I've been out of high school for a little over a decade. Instead of watching the popular girls get a Valentine's surprise, I'm watching my female co-workers get roses from their sweeties.

I don't say much on this particular day. In fact, I say almost nothing and keep to myself, holed up in my office space, peeking out between the crack of my cd rack, listening to the girls ask each other what they're doing on this particular evening and what they've gotten their boyfriends.

They don't bother including me in on the converstations relating to this particular day, as I'm the only female in the office without a man. And so the more I hear them giggling and speaking of their plans, the more envious and bitter I become.

And I've promised myself for the past three years that Valentine's Day is really no big deal. It's only a big deal IF you've got someone. But, somehow it always ends up bogging me down like there's no tomorrow because EVERYONE makes such a huge deal about it. And I keep asking myself, "Why do you let them get to you?" And, I think, "It's because deep down, you wish you could participate and get into it as much as everyone else because they seem to be having so much fun."

So, this year, I decided to dress up in all sexy slinky black just for myself, to cheer me up some. I rented a movie, heated up some pizza, popped some popcorn, and ate some chocolate while curled up in front of the tv with my little black fur ball of a cat. But even then, I was still a bit sad because this has now been my 3rd year on V-day without a Valentine and I just finished watching a dog show. The little poodle named "Spice Girl" won.

The best thing I got this year was an e-card from the ever sweet thunderstorm and the best thing I heard from someone today was a compliment from a co-worker telling me that I look really nice while I had no make-up on except for a little lipstick, followed by a "you should definitely wear that outfit the next time you go on a date. It's very becoming on you."

Yup, yup. I hate Valentine's Day.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.