Sunday, Sept. 23, 2001

10:37 p.m.

Sometimes I like being alone. It gives me a sense that I am capable of grasping onto life without being needy of others.

I almost always go somewhere alone. I go home alone. I go to the grocerystore alone. I go to the gym alone. I usually go shopping alone. I go rollerblading at the beach alone. I go to parties and barbeques alone. I go to the bookstore alone. I go to the bathroom alone. Well, most people I know go to the bathroom alone, unless, of course you are female and still in high school or at a club, but you get the point.

And sometimes, good things come of people who go places alone.

Last Tuesday, everyone at work had somehow brought their lunches. I was on my own.

I walked across the street for a gyro and fries. As I was walking back, a man in workout clothes and a gym bag stopped me. He was on his way to the gym when he saw me and decided to introduce himself, pointing out that he's a writer, just down the street.

Flattered, I tried to take in as much as I could see, despite that it was a rather bright day. The sun was in my eyes. He asked me if I had a business card or something so maybe we could have coffee sometime. I tried to think quickly...is he cute? How old does he look? What if I say no and miss a good opportunity? Sure, he's a stranger, but who knows what might happen? Hey, this is no different than meeting guys over the internet. Well, he looks ok so far even if I can't really see his eyes behind his sunglasses. Hell, why not?

And so, I gave him my business card and we departed ways.

He emailed me the next day, rather than calling. I think he figured that was the safer route to go. Sort of to test the water. Ha. I bet he was too nervous to call. Heheheh.

I wrote back and he wrote back. Then, I wrote back again and asked him directly, "So, is this going to be an email thing or what? When are you going to actually make that phone call and take me out for coffee?" He wrote back and asked if I had a direct line? Haha....I thought, "Dang, he's got the guts to ask me out on the street corner, yet he's having a hard time making that phone call?"

So, the next day, he calls me at work to see if I had half an hour to spare. I decided to give him a hard time and told him it was a bad day and to try me next week. He said he'd call me early this week.

The thing is, I don't really remember what he looks like. I know nothing about this guy except that he's a tv comedy writer with two shows in the works, he's got one brother here in LA, his family is from Connecticut, he lives near my work, he works out at LA Sports Club, and that he thought I was "so cute" that he just had to stop me in my tracks.

So, now I think I should probably walk to lunch bymyself more often. It's nice to be asked out like that.

Ah, I feel lame writing about this now. I started out thinking I had something cohesive to write about and then, I kinda just fell apart.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.