Friday, June 6, 2001

1:41 a.m.

There's nothing like spending 4th of July almost completely with strangers. No friends, no family. Just complete strangers, one stripper, a couple of dogs, and one very cool client, whose birthday happens to be on independence day. I wouldn't have changed any of it.

It took me a couple of hours to persuade myself if I should go to this party out in Playa del Rey. My freelance client, David, had invited me the week prior and I even did the flyers for him. I knew he was hiring a dj, so it had to be pretty big I thought. The party had started at 3 p.m. and by 7:30 p.m., I was all decked out in a cute sundress that flattered my figure rather nicely and in a good, decent way.

One of my worst fears is showing up at a party where I wouldn't know anyone and no one would talk to me. Nonetheless, I knew I'd get even more depressed as the day wore on and I didn't want to regret missing out on something great. Also, I knew people at work would be asking me how my 4th was and if I did anything. Of course, I wanted to go into work the next day and be able to feed them interesting news. Plus, there was also the chance of meeting new friends. I mean, that's what I really crave and here was my chance to seek it out. And, for all these reasons, I decided to go rather than sit home and feel sorry for myself. I was going to make the best out of it, alone.

By 7:30, I was in my car, driving traffic-less on the 10 west to the 405 south. I could feel the excitement in my body as I cruised on the freeway. The sun was setting, a full moon was out, and I was happily singing outloud to the latest Weezer cd. I felt good. I felt positive. I was excited, but I couldn't quite pinpoint what it was. I think it was the excitement that I actually had some place to go.

Half-way down the 90 west towards Marina del Rey, traffic jammed up bumper to bumper, moving at what seemed like 5 mph. Normally, it would take me 15 minutes to get to Playa del Rey, but this time, it took a good 45 minutes to an hour before I reached my destination. Everyone was heading towards the beach and a couple of main streets were closed off. This was to repeat itself on the way back home later in the evening even though I did take an alternate route.

Finally, by 8:30, I was parked in front of Dave's garage. Luckily, despite the fact that I was one of the last people to arrive, I was directed to park right in front of the beachhouse. Lucky me, since parking, I tell ya was a nightmare over there. I was already feeling special.

People were all over the place, on the streets, on the beach, in the beach houses. It was all very casual and friendly. Dave led me upstairs to his shared pad. It was filled with strangers and sure, I was a little nervous, but anxious to start chatting up to people. I noticed there were more guys than girls and immediatly people started glancing my way. That made me feel a bit self-conscious but at the same time, it was a good sort of self-conscious. I mean the guys were looking at me with interest and I recognized that. I liked it.

Then, I saw Lucy, Dave's girlfriend and the only other person I knew. She introduced me to this English guy named Andre. A short time later, another fellow Englishman named Gordon came up to introduce himself to me as "Flash Gordon." Haha. I'm pretty sure he was half-way drunk because he then gave me a kiss on the cheek. I then said, "Well, aren't you going to give Andre a kiss on the cheek, as well?" Gordon smiled, shook his head and said, "No." For some reason, I put on my puppy-eyed look and whimpered out, "Oooh, not even for me?" That did it. Gordon put on a huge grin and leaned over to kiss Andre. I found myself uttering, "Ok, Andre, it's your turn to give Gordon a kiss." Andre says, "Oh, no. He's got whiskers." I give the puppy-eyed look again and he kisses his finger and places it on Gordon's cheek. Aaaahhh, I love that power.

So, next came the stripper. She put on a short show, rubbing herself all over birthday boy and 10 minutes later she was still fully clothed in her little, itsy, striped bikini and pink feathers. Not too much excitement there.

I'm not sure how it happened, but I kept getting introduced to other people who walked up to me. I can't remember everyone's names now, but I do remember Prama, Coleman, and Willy. We found ourselves dancing out on the little, second-story patio with 20-25 other people. At one point, we were all afraid the patio would go crashing down below. It was so much fun. People were still out on the beach below having bonfires, lighting little firecrackers, running around and dancing. The moon was full and the planes were flying above. A drunken girl shouted, "Hey, the plane looks like a spaceship." Another guy then shouted out, "Ok everyone, wave at the aliens!" So, while jumping up and down to some techno music, we all waved at the airplane, not once or twice, but three times. It was crazy, but it was fun. The foreigners think we're crazy but love us for it.

And this, this must have been the best 4th of July I've ever had. Seriously. The thing was, I spent it with a bunch of strangers. I am amazed I went to this party not really knowing anyone and came out of it with several new friends, who hopefully will give me a ring. Well, I know one has already done that. I actually gave him and his 3 buddies a ride to their car, which was parked about a mile away. He had given me an alternate route to avoid the killer traffic jam and was afraid I got lost, so when I got home, he called. He sounded worried and uttered in his little accent, "Rachel, I so worried you got lost and wanted to see if you are ok." Now that, I think is truly sweet.

Now, for some linking before I get rusty again and forget how to link.

My new, very cool friend, Brian, has recently signed up on diaryland. His words are so touching it sometimes makes me want to just give him a hug. He seems like he'd make a good concert buddy and I so want a concert buddy or two.

Baggage is still as sweet as ever with his stories of Girl-unit and other matters. This guy's writing almost always leaves me with a big grin on my face and a must for me to leave a mark in his guestbook.

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.