Friday, Feb. 25, 2005

2:07 a.m.

Hola,�c�mo est� usted? Me llama Raquel. Jorge es mi novio. Un poco cansada.

Si. I am finally taking a twice a week Spanish class that will last for about 16 or 18 weeks. Pretty soon I will be able to watch and actually understand all the Spanish soaps to my heart's content. Si, si!!

It is a strange feeling walking on a college campus, riding the shuttle that takes me from the parking lot to the main campus among all these other students. Even when I had to stand in line to purchase my textbooks, which by the way cost me aboat $250 total for just one 5-unit Spanish course. Crazy, eh? I even got a student ID. I had forgotten what it was like to be a student.

The best part is that I'm having fun and getting to know my new classmates. I even have a shuttle buddy, someone from my class. The other night, we discovered there are two other classmates who will be taking the shuttle with us. I was quite excited! It's makes me feel vibrant gaining newfound friends. Afterall, most if not all of my closest friends were acquired during my univesity days. I'm looking forward to possible study groups. God, I must sound like a 32 yr old nerd....ok, a pretty one at that. Ha.

The difference with being a student now vs when I was actually earning a degree some 6 yrs ago is that I'm working full-time and taking a night course for my own personal desire to attain a new skill. It's hard to fit in a rigorous 5-unit language course twice a week after a full day's job and then trying to spend an extra 10 hrs a week preparing for homework and listening activities at the lab. I know it'll all be worth it in the end and I'm already planning to take Spanish II next semester! I can't wait to fully be able to speak Spanish in a different country. Mexico, Peru, South America, here I come! First, though, we're heading to Hawaii towards the end of May. I can't wait. Oh, tonight, which will be Friday night, I get to go to the Staples Center and sit in a box seat to watch the Lakers. Our good friend, the lawyer invited us. It'll be another fun couples night. Can't wait!

COMMENTS

Did you miss me? - Sunday, Jun. 12, 2005
go away, leave me alone - Thursday, Mar. 10, 2005
Hola, �c�mo est� usted? - Friday, Feb. 25, 2005
a cousin once removed - Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005
creepy crawlies - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

All words copyright � 2000-2001 by Msdezine, unless noted otherwise. That means if you're going to quote me, you must give me credit.